Composing new Text message...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by prettyboyvictor, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. prettyboyvictor
    Offline

    prettyboyvictor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hate that when i click on create new text message no names pop up so i can easily click on the person i want to text. instead i have to go all the way to the home screen click on contacts look for the person and then send the text. or am i doing something wrong?? is there a better way of creating a new text without having to memorize numbers or go all the way back home and looking for the contact ?? :motdroidhoriz:
     
  2. Anonymouse
    Offline

    Anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can type in the name of the contact, I think. Or like everyone else says, download Handcent SMS, it makes your life so much easier.
     
  3. prettyboyvictor
    Offline

    prettyboyvictor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is. There a specific app for handsent sms that you suggest gettin??
     
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Handcent SMS is the app
     
  5. roflcopters
    Offline

    roflcopters Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can just type in the name...
     
  6. crspang
    Offline

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just start typing a name in the "to" line and you'll get some to choose from, its easy.
     
  7. Jmaye2048
    Offline

    Jmaye2048 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been having a similar problem. I am typing in the name, however there are some contacts that have been saved that still wont show up when im trying to compose a text. Does anyone know if there is something I need to change with the way they are set up as a contact? I tried switching to another sms app but again people were missing.
     
  8. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    for text messages, the people you are sending the message to MUST have a mobile phone entry. either use the contacts and search the name (by typing it, just start typing it), go to call log and select the message icon, or open a new message and start typing the name.

    if you have other conversations with that person, any new message will be merged into the old one.
     
  9. Jmaye2048
    Offline

    Jmaye2048 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    so the problem i am having is because they are set up as home instead of mobile?
     
  10. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    actually i just tested it. i'm getting texts from a friend that has his mobile number setup under home. although the messages i get show up as him and although i can select the message icon from contacts, i can't search his name in the to: box.

    the number HAS to be a mobile number.
     
  11. Jmaye2048
    Offline

    Jmaye2048 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome, seems like an easy problem for me to fix, i appreciate the help. Thanks alot
     
  12. ohioDroid
    Offline

    ohioDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using Handcent to 'fix' this issue, where if I want to send someone a txt, I compose, click to add a person, and I get the list of my contacts to select.

    The normal Messaging app just wants you to enter the names...

    Is that the correct assessment? Or can you select contacts from the list in the Messaging app and I just don't know it?
     
Search tags for this page

compose new text on android 4