Complete Novice!

DaRONI

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Just purchased my first smart phone, a Galaxy S4 and I have a couple of questions. I am a complete novice at this so excuse me if my questions seem a bit basic. I have a lmited data plan, so I'd like to make sure that all apps that I do not need running are turned off to save data usage and battery life. I haven't been able to find this. Can someome tell me how to do this? Also is there a quick way to turn the phone to vibrate? I need to keep the phone on vibrate at work and haven't found that option either.

Right now I am feelng completely lost so I think I'll go peruse the boards for more information, but if anybody can help me out with these basic questions, I'd appreciate it!

Thanks!

GVLBob

Reaction score
First, welcome to the forum. As you can see, I'm pretty much a novice myself.

Regarding your data plan, one thing you might want to enable is "auto-update apps over Wi-Fi only" in the Settings for the Play Store. Another is to check "Auto-connect" in the Wi-Fi settings (under Connections).

Unless you stream music or movies or play games, you ought to be OK. But watch your data usage during your initial weeks. And you can set a notification for when you get close to your monthly limit. That is under Data usage in the Connections tab of your Settings.

There is a thread here on extending battery life. I would read those posts for suggestions.

leeshor

Gold Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum
I save battery and bandwidth by not allowing my S4 to do pretty much anything without me initiating the request. That includes any of the live widgets and E-Mail. An app called Onavo Counts will tell you what app is using how much data, which is a good way to find apps you may need to adjust.

For vibration settings - my device - call - ringtones and sound

Tankwylde

Reaction score