Can't bump charge with Clockwork Recovery installed.

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by nateccnn, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Not sure if this is a Thunderbolt issue or a Clockwork Recovery issue or I just have a bad install. But since I rooted and put Clockwork Recovery on the phone if the phone is turned off and I plug the charger into the usb port the phone boots into recovery.

    I've never used Clockwork Recovery before. Is this normal behavior? And if so, is there a way to turn it off so I can charge the phone with the power turned off?

    Nate
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Moved to the proper area, Nate please try and search before starting new threads. I don't know if there is an answer for this or not but we are getting a lot of threads on the same subject. Not picking on you, this goes for everyone.
  3. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It only does this if plugged into USB. Plug it into a regular charger and you should be ok.
  4. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I did plug it into a regular charger.

    Nate
  5. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for moving it, hook...but where am I now? In the Droid Forums app it doesn't tell me where I am. Someone turn the lights on.

    Nate
  6. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your in the thunderbolt sub forum Hacking.

    So it does this when plugged into a regular phone charger?
  7. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    it does it when plugged into anything - just the way it is right now - not "normal" for clockwork, but no "fix" for it yet either

    nate you should check out thunderboltforums.com - it's getting pretty active pretty quick... good source for TB stuff
  8. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What version of CWM are you running? I am on 3.0.2.4. And I do not have this issue.
  9. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    on the thunderbolt?
  10. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    yes that's the version I have
  11. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird then
  12. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    3.0.2.4 here too.

    Nate

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  13. burntorangefan
    Offline

    burntorangefan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    3.0.2.4 here as well and it also goes into CWM like everyone else. It doesn't matter how you try to charge it...
  14. givmedew
    Offline

    givmedew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St Pete, FL and Aurora, IL
    Is there any proof that bump charging doesn't work while the phone is off? In all honesty the same thing happens when the phone is on. It says its charged you unplug it and plug it back in and it starts charging again right?
  15. razvu
    Offline

    razvu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same problem about bump charge!

    I have the same problem: ROM Manager v3.0.1.4, ClockworkMod 3.0.2.4, when I turn the phone off and plug it into wall charger, it goes to ClockworkMod recovery and I cannot charge the phone...
    Thanks for any tips!
  16. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Is there an app for tbfourms yet?

    - Powered by 1.21 Gigawatts of Android.
  17. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    why shut off the phone....dd you try leaving it on and charge and see if the same thing happens
  18. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    it's tapatalk "enabled"
  19. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    there's a battery calibration "Method" out there for HTC phones that requires you charging it off, twice during the process, if I remember right
  20. jawa6969
    Offline

    jawa6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    So.. Am I to take it that right now, it's not advised to run the battery to dead if you have Clockwork installed?

    I am trying to calibrate my battery to the Battery Left widget and I have to run it to dead to get full calibration.
Search tags for this page

rooted phone unable to bump charge