Cannot make calls Activity Dialer (in process com.android.phone) is not responding

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by mcflied, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cannot make calls or send any text messages.

    I get this error message:

    Activity Dialer (in process com.android.phone) is not responding

    I have rebooted the phone, taken out the battery, put it back in... and restarted the phone 3 times and still the same problem persists. I can't even dial 611 to reach verizon's tech support. The only thing I haven't done is a factory reset and I have already customized the crap out of my phone.... I don't want to have to factory reset it.

    Anyone else experiencing this problem?

    --mcflied
  2. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I should also mention that I haven't installed any new app right before this problem occurred. Also, from time to time, if a friend sends me one text message, I will receive it duplicated like 15 times. Sometimes it's only duplicated 5 times. What is taking over my droid? lol

    mcflied...
  3. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, yesterday... I called a friend... and as I called them and they answered... we chatted for about 3 minutes... and then my phone was calling her again on her other line....

    It only occurred during this one call. This happened about 3 times during that call... and has not happened since.
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,780
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    These stories get crazier and crazier, like the Droid really does have a mind of its own. Factory reset would seem to be your only option.

    I have my Droid on all day and nothing has happened so far. I got it the day it released.
  5. pilot25
    Offline

    pilot25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I got this message too but I'm sure it was the "missed call" app I installed. I uninstalled it and everything has been normal. Well, normal for a new phone with a lot of bugs.
  6. otaku
    Offline

    otaku New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Maybe before a factory reset you could try clearing the data from the Dialer and Messaging apps? I don't know what this would do, but could be a last ditch before a reset. Saved me a reset with my e-mail problems :)

    Home->Settings->Application Settings->Manage Applications

    Hit Menu->Filter

    Choose Running


    I noticed two Dialer apps (Dialer and Dialer Storage). Click on each and click the Clear data button. Then do the same for Messaging. See if this helps your situation.
  7. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, I reset the phone. What was cool, was that it did not completely wipe the phone. My pictures are still there, and all the apps I downloaded and installed are there, however all I have to do is click on them and it will reinstall them. Phone works as normal, and is now not doing any weird things. I did have to reset up my contacts and email accounts.

    What I really like about this phone is the way it makes me feel like I have a computer instead of a limited handcuffed phone. It's awesome!

    -mcflied
  8. Chief
    Offline

    Chief New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I have that problem too right now with the dialer. Can't dial out or get voicemail. Can receive incoming. I also have a problem where the time on the top right stops. I did a factory reset on Sunday night to correct the time problem but I still have that problem. And now I have the Dialer problem. Oh I also received duplicate texts too but I think that was right after I did the factory reset so I thought nothing of it.
  9. shamu124
    Offline

    shamu124 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid Activity Dialer

    I noticed the problem after installing a program called Quick Dial...I am not 100% sure if that is the cause. Did anyone else install that program and have the problem?
  10. Kerry
    Offline

    Kerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had QD too and had this problem. Not sure if was the Alps fault or not.
  11. littleboy
    Offline

    littleboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this problem today and was forced to do a factory reset. I did not have the Quick Dialer program installed, so don't know what caused it. Irritating, to say the least.
  12. Redls1bird
    Offline

    Redls1bird New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a similar problem this morning. My wife called me, and I tried and tried to answer the phone. Ten swipes later, it finally answered but came up with an error that said: "Activity phone (in process com. android phone) is not responding" .

    Im pretty laid back, and dont get in too much of a tiff if some of the "apps" on my phone dont work. I realize that they are created by third parties, and dont reflect on the phone as much as they do their creators (for the most part) . But when my PHONE wont work as a PHONE, it gets under my skin.
  13. jrocketdroid
    Offline

    jrocketdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I'm with Redls1bird on this one. I have had this issue occur about three times now. The first time I did a factory reset and all was fine, but the last two times I have not and it's gone away on it's own.

    I don't have QuickDial. I uninstalled Handcent, Fringe, and another app just in case, but still don't think that is the source of the problem. Did anyone else figure out what's causing this?
  14. Brian7
    Offline

    Brian7 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem, took my Droid to back to the store and had a tech look at it. His solution was that I had used up to much of my internal memory......I know, I know...I thought the same thing, this is not supposed to be an issue.
    So I went about uninstalling a whole bunch of my apps until I got my internal memory down to about 150mb used and I try to keep it around that level. I have not had the problem since.
    I had every single problem that has been described in this thread and when I reduced my internal memory usage it cleared up all my problems....I didn't even have to factory reset the thing! So take it for what it's worth, apparently our Droids have a problem with handling a maxed out internal memory.
  15. jerry62
    Offline

    jerry62 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    I had this same problem today and before temporarily (unable to place calls). Today the problem would not go away until I ran an application that used the network. Very strange. Similar issues with other functions that lockup, such as downloads that are stuck. Difficult to pinpoint exactly what is causing the problems. Would be nice to think that some techies from Motorola are monitoring these forums!
  16. Chief
    Offline

    Chief New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I had a download that got stuck (bought the documents to go on Tues) and it finally completed on Thurs. Up until Thurs for the past week and a half I had no problems (except for that download) as I experienced several problems in mid Nov after getting the phone on the day it came out. Then the phone started locking up midday on Thurs and couldn't use the camera, the Power control widget wouldn't work, and I also couldn't dial out again. So I downloaded SuperDial because that worked 2 weeks ago to make a phone call. This time it didn't work. Several hours later after receiving a phone call is when I was able to dial out again. Now last night the problem came up again and I went to a pay phone to dial my number. First time I just let it rang but no luck so I tried it again by accepting the call. Again no luck. Right now I have 159MB of available internal phone storage.
  17. jerry62
    Offline

    jerry62 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    Had this happen yet again..sometimes the phone just doesn't work for outgoing calls...then ten mins after you tried it attempts to dial the number when you are even using an other app... like some timeout finally cleared and all your former commands start processing....
  18. pope66682
    Offline

    pope66682 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    This happened to me twice. Had to do a factory reset. Good thing I had all my apps backed up so I didnt have to redownload all of them. ASTRO is a lifesaver. I was on the phone with Verizon and Motorola for over an hour and they claim that the software update that is coming out soon should fix this issue. We'll see... :dry:
  19. jerry62
    Offline

    jerry62 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
  20. jerry62
    Offline

    jerry62 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    This was still a problem for me once since the 2.0.1 update (the phone lockup that is). Perhaps the upcoming 2.1 update will do even better.
Search tags for this page

activity dialer

,
activity dialer (in process com.android.phone) is not respon
,
activity dialer android
,
activity dialer in process com android
,

activity dialer in process com.android.phone is not respondi

,

activity dialer not responding

,
activity dialer not responding android
,

activity phone (in process com.android.phone) is not respond

,

activity phone is not responding

,
activity phone is not responding android
,
activity phone not responding
,
in process com.android.phone is not responding