Can not Boot !!!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by turtlegss, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. turtlegss

    turtlegss Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help!
    I just rooted and then downloaded the rommanager and did a backup and then flash recovery enabled then tried to flash Sourcery. It then did all the installing but now when it boots after the M into the happy holidays santa. It just stays there. Its been going over an Hour!

    Thanks for helping!
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Welcome to bootloops! :)
    Did you wipe data and cache in recovery?

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  3. blackngray70

    blackngray70 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try pulling the battery. Did you wipe during the install?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    ??you there OP? Haha!
    If a battery pull and reboot doesn't work, pull it again and slide open the keyboard. Press and hold power + x (release the power button after it gets to the M logo). What do you see?

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  5. turtlegss

    turtlegss Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    During the install. it had 2 boxes with possible check marks. one was backup i think and the other one was clear some stuff.

    Should I have checked these 2 boxes?
     
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Maybe. I don't use ROM Mangler. Try the method I mentioned and see if it reboots into the recovery. Let me know :)

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  7. turtlegss

    turtlegss Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I managed to boot into recovery and revert back to a working phone again.
    I'm going to try to install the ROM. Is this common that reinstalling needs to happen to prevent boot loop?
     
  8. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Taadaa ;)
    Personally, I use SPRecovery and don't bother with ROM Manager.
    Bootloops usually occur when the data and cache aren't wiped before installing the ROM.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  9. turtlegss

    turtlegss Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANKS!
    I wiped the cache and it finally booted!
     
  10. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Awesome!! :)
    When you decide to install another ROM, PM me and I'll be happy to help you! FYI: flashing a ROM is the only time you'll need to wipe data. Thought that would be useful in the future :)



    DroidForums junkie!!