Bionic not working with docks after flashing .246 FXZ

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by bionicDock, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello Everyone!

    I have a frustrating problem, after testing some custom ROMs (AOKP, CM 10.1) I decided to flash back to stock. I formatted data and cache, then proceeded to flash the .246 FXZ file I found here using RSD Lite. All was fine and good until I inserted my phone into my OEM Standard dock; the dock interface never appeared. No matter what I did the stock dock application would never launch. I then decided to test it in my OEM car dock, and I got the same result. Then I discovered that as well as not launching the car dock interface, it also would not play audio through my cars speakers. (the dock routes audio through the micro usb port, and down a special cable which splits at the end to allow an AUX source to be plugged in.) This is completely unacceptable since I use my Bionic as the "media center" of my vehicle. Can someone please help me?! I have tried reflashing several times now, all with the same result.

    -NCB
  2. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump!

    Seriously? No help?!
  3. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    After fxz did you factory reset and boot into stock recovery and wipe cache? That will get rid of any little things left. I always factory reset after fxz and wipe cache and I have never had any issues if that does not work try to fxz again you may have gotten a bad flash where something just didn't flash correctly
  4. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure I did exactly that. I can't find the FXZ hosted anywhere other than the download I got. All the websites seem to point to the same download. For clarification, does the dock work for you?

    Thanks,
    NCB
  5. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I decided to try again, just to make sure I did it correctly. I downloaded a fresh copy of the FXZ, flashed it, went into stock recovery, wiped cache, wiped data/factory reset, then wiped cache again just to be sure. next I Booted it up, then tried it in both docks. Nothing. Still not working. Maybe you could link an FXZ that worked fr you?

    thanks,
    NCB
  6. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/t...-op-updated-daily/page__pid__86797#entry86797

    I don't have a desk dock but car dock and lap dock work for me and the fxz file I use came from this website for my bionic hope this helps. Also maybe before you try to flash again go into all apps and find the ones for dock I think there is 2 and clear cache data then force stop don't know it'll help but worth a shot before you flash again.
  7. sst45jeff
    Online

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Are you using the fxz process in my signature?
    I have all the docks and the same car setup with the aux. Input cord.
    All my docks work fine.
    Check to see if you have accidentally checked the setting to do nothing when inserted into the dock.
    Clearing the cache and settings for the dock app should take care of it.
  8. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where do I got to clear the dock app's cache? If I go to settings > apps all I get are three tabs: Downloaded, internal storage, and running. The dock applications aren't listed there. How can I view a full list of all apps?

    NCB
  9. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    There should be 4 tabs all the way to right should be one that says all these are the 2 apps for dock

    ForumRunner_20130317_083826.png
  10. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found the all apps list. The three dock related applications I saw there were Motorola Dock Helper Service, Motorola Dock Service, and DockComm. When I open each of these, everything is grayed out except for force stop. I tried force stopping them and inserting it into the dock. Nothing still. I then tried reflashing using sst45jeff's guide and force stopping these same apps again. Nothing still. I'm at a loss of what to do next. I did notice that I had been using RSD Lite 5.6 instead of 5.7. I Installed 5.7 before my last flash. I'm not sure if that would have made a difference or not, but I wanted to cover all bases.

    -NCB
  11. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm not sure then I will do some research see if I can find something else out for you
  12. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your help. I'm not so much worried about the dock applications themselves; they can be replaced with others. What I really need is to get the audio out working again.

    -NCB
  13. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Made a short video demonstrating the docks not working. Maybe it will be of some help? Dock Demo - YouTube
  14. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Does audio out work if you plug directly into audio jack on phone?
  15. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, it works normally when I plug the audio cable into the headphone jack.
  16. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Here is 3 more apps that's under the all apps tab smart dock, vehicle mode, and web top. Go in and force stop and if it let's you clear data and cache and scroll down to clear defaults and press that if it let's you. If it says computing let it finish or they'll be greyed out until it finishes. If none of these only other thing I could think of is its a hardware issue.
  17. bionicDock
    Offline

    bionicDock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, still nothing. I guess it must be some sort of hardware issue like you said. I have come up with a work around for anyone who is having a similar problem. I purchased a bluetooth capable stereo for my truck. I'm simply going to use smart actions an create a rule to start bluetooth anytime my phone is charging (when it's connected to the dock) Then I'm going to create another rule to launch a car dock app I downloaded when it connects to a specific device (my stereo). and simply stream the audio through bluetooth. While it doesn't really fix the issue, it certainly is a decent workaround.

    Thanks for all your help mattjen!

    -NCB
  18. rkismet
    Offline

    rkismet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont think its a hardware issue per-say...unless we are talking at the 50K ft level and says its a bionic :)
    im having the same issue since going to 4.0...home button issues to.

    -------------
    standard dock
    vehicle dock
    home button
    getting firmware updates when promised :-\
    -------------
  19. matthimrod
    Offline

    matthimrod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having pretty much the same problem as the OP.

    I tried flashing a custom ROM (AOKP, if I recall correctly), but I didn't realize until after it was done that it is designed to be run with Safestrap (dumb of me, I know). So, I flashed back to 246 using moto-fastboot, installed Bionic Boostrap and restored my nandroid backup. My docks were mostly not working (more details below). I assumed I had a bad flash, so I reflashed 246 with moto-fastboot again, assuming that would fix the problem. Of course, then I got antsy and installed the JB update that leaked out yesterday without testing the docks first. Now my docks still won't work and I think trying to flash back to 246 using moto-fastboot again is a bad idea.

    Both before and after reflashing, I tried force stop/clear data/clear cache on all of the dock-related services.

    My Lapdock, HD Dock, Standard Dock, and Navigation Dock all will not fully work. They will all charge the phone, but the phone doesn't go into dock mode nor do I get audio through the dock's audio connectors. I get a little bit more love from the HD Dock and Lapdock. On the HD Dock, the USB ports and remote control function, but the phone won't go into "dock mode". For the most part, the Lapdock works as well, but it won't display the dock's battery status nor does the phone seem to realize it's in the dock and not just connected to the TV with an HDMI cable.

    If I am connected with adb, and put the phone into the HD Dock, I see the following from dmesg:

    Code:
    <6>[11003.122406,1] cpcap spi1.0: notify_accy: accy=USB DEVICE
    <6>[11003.133880,1] SW:CPCAP_ACCY_USB_DEVICE Connected
    <7>[11003.345489,1] musb-hdrc: setup fifo_mode 4
    <7>[11003.345642,1] musb-hdrc: 17/31 max ep, 13632/16384 memory
    <6>[11003.361236,1] EVENT_NONE: host mode, stop musb
    <7>[11003.361358,1] musb-hdrc: setup fifo_mode 4
    <7>[11003.361572,1] musb-hdrc: 28/31 max ep, 15424/16384 memory
    <6>[11003.361694,1] EVENT_NONE: pull down, disable gadget
    <6>[11003.361877,1] EVENT_NONE: pull up, enable gadget anyway
    <7>[11003.587646,1] musb-hdrc: setup fifo_mode 4
    <7>[11003.587799,1] musb-hdrc: 17/31 max ep, 13632/16384 memory
    <6>[11004.017395,1] usb 3-1: new high speed USB device number 4 using musb-hdrc
    <3>[11004.166290,0] usb 3-1: device v22b8 p0939 is not supported
    <6>[11004.166534,0] usb 3-1: New USB device found, idVendor=22b8, idProduct=0939
    <6>[11004.166778,0] usb 3-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
    <6>[11004.166900,0] usb 3-1: Product: Motorola HD Dock
    <6>[11004.167114,0] usb 3-1: Manufacturer: Motorola Inc.
    <6>[11004.167236,0] usb 3-1: SerialNumber: 22E16C22
    <6>[11004.169799,0] hub 3-1:1.0: USB hub found
    <6>[11004.170257,0] hub 3-1:1.0: 4 ports detected
    <6>[11004.454895,0] usb 3-1.1: new full speed USB device number 5 using musb-hdrc
    <3>[11004.565826,0] usb 3-1.1: device v22b8 p0938 is not supported
    <6>[11004.565917,0] usb 3-1.1: New USB device found, idVendor=22b8, idProduct=0938
    <6>[11004.566070,0] usb 3-1.1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
    <6>[11004.566223,0] usb 3-1.1: Product: Motorola HD Dock
    <6>[11004.566314,0] usb 3-1.1: Manufacturer: Motorola Mobility
    <6>[11004.566375,0] usb 3-1.1: SerialNumber: 86C192461C001D00
    <6>[11004.571075,0] input: Motorola Mobility Motorola HD Dock as /devices/platform/omap/musb-omap2430/musb-hdrc/usb3/3-1/3-1.1/3-1.1:1.0/input/input7
    <6>[11004.572204,0] using input dev Motorola Mobility Motorola HD Dock for key reset
    <6>[11004.572357,0] keychord: using input dev Motorola Mobility Motorola HD Dock for fevent
    <6>[11004.572998,0] motorola 0003:22B8:0938.0002: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.01 Keyboard [Motorola Mobility Motorola HD Dock] on usb-musb-hdrc-1.1/input0
    It seems that in the case of the HD Dock, the phone detects the dock devices, but I don't see the same thing from the standard or navigation docks. With the navigation dock and only seeing the following:

    Code:
    <6>[21974.348724,0] cpcap spi1.0: notify_accy: accy=NONE
    <6>[21992.228668,0] cpcap spi1.0: notify_accy: accy=CHARGER
    I'm guessing there's some disconnect with the USB port on the phone. The HDMI port seems okay. I'd also assume that it's some sort of software issue as well since it started after my ROM flashing attempt. I know the docks are all okay because I have an identical work Bionic that I've kept totally stock and unrooted. All of the docks work fine with the work phone, so the docks should be fine. Beyond examining dmesg, I'm not sure what to do next to troubleshoot. When I saw the dmesg output when connecting the HD Dock, I assumed that the kernel was detecting the docks, but my test with the navigation dock refuted that.

    Anyone have any ideas of what I can look for next?
  20. taller238
    Offline

    taller238 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have exactly the same problem.
    Have you managed somehow to solve it?
    Since I'm already on .246, I'm not sure if I can reflash a .246 once again.
    I thought you reflashing the .246 indicated you do it again toward a .246 base, correct?

    Thank you in advance for your advice.
Search tags for this page

.246

,
android bionic lapdock hdmi wont work
,

bionic desk dock error

,

bionic desk dock not working after update

,

bionic hdmi not working

,

droid bionic dock not launching

,
droid bionic jelly bean dock
,

droid bionic wont flashback to stock .246

,

fastboot load file:could not allocate -2013265920 bytes

,

hdmi work on droid bionic with jellybean

,

load file: could not allocate bytes error: cannot load syste

,

motorola droid 4 re-flash .246