Attempted to return to stock image . . . help!!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by 306stang, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. 306stang
    Offline

    306stang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ATL
    Ratings:
    +0
    after running a few different rom's lately and being buggy, i decided to revert back to a stock rooted image via clockwork.

    did a back up, dl'ed the stock image, and got partial apps reinstalled (WHICH TOOK FOREVER and kept hanging up in the market).

    THE PROBLEM: in clockword now, i cannot fix permissions, install rom, OR boot into recovery.

    i've got the superuser icon in the app drawer. SetCPU says it's in "read-only mode".

    WTF HAPPENED???????????????
     
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Not sure what may have caused the issue. Perhaps the stock image was for non rooted or corrupt.

    You still get into CW recovery so try flashing the alternate recovery SPR then CW. If that works, did you make a backup of your rooted phone before you installed a rom? If so, restore that particular backup.

    If that does not work then you may need to use RSD or SBF. Here are two links

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/re...08-multiple-phones-root-them-unroot-them.html that may help
    Hope this is helpful.

    Mike
     
  3. 306stang
    Offline

    306stang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ATL
    Ratings:
    +0
    tried SPR and get "error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands".

    i'll try the SBF
     
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you try the Fix permission in RM/CW?

    Sorry reread OP and you did
     
  5. 306stang
    Offline

    306stang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ATL
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is why i love the android community!!! got the phone running again. def unrooted it with the stock image, maybe i selected the wrong one . . . who knows.

    thanks man!!
     
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Glad you are up and running

    My addiction Droid Forum