Anybody else having problems with Swype since the update?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by Chubbydog, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. Chubbydog

    Chubbydog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to update Swype yesterday, and haven't been able to use it since. I've tried uninstalling it, and reinstalling it, and nothing. It tries to turn on. Pops up for about half a second, but then goes to the Android keyboard. I'm using Slide it keyboard right now, but I think I still like Swype better. Anybody have any ideas how to get this working again?
     
  2. GalaxyFlatulence

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    nope, works great since the update for me :biggrin:
     
  3. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    Works fine for me too.

    Actually its been a while since I've used Swype and it seems better than ever.
     
  4. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,180
    Likes Received:
    3,623
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,070
    Have you tried uninstall both Swype and the installer? It sounds like it is thinking it has expired and the solution according to Swype is uninstall both, reinstall both.
    Hope that helps

    Support Our Troops! !!!
    <><
    From a Beano
     
  5. maineultraclassic

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Working fine here.............Love Swype!!

    Steve
     
  6. stovesax

    stovesax New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is s thread in the Swype forums about this. It is related to the accessibility options in settings. You can get Swype to work by either disabling all the accessibility options (light flow is a common one) in settings or by disabling the stock android keyboard in the all apps list and then restarting your phone.
     
  7. Chubbydog

    Chubbydog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. That was the problem. I couldn't use it with light flow. I uninstalled this, turned off my android keyboard while swype was on, then reinstalled light flow. Everything is working now, but I just don't have the Android keyboard.
     
  8. maineultraclassic

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I just got another Swype update this evening, not sure what it did.

    Steve
     
  9. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,180
    Likes Received:
    3,623
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,070
    Same here. It seems to have added a lag to mine when the keyboard first pops up. It could be coincidence because my phone has had a mind of its own all day even after a couple of reboots. Other than the lag I haven't noticed any changes. I might go to their forum and see if there are release notes in a thread or something
    Edit. Nothing there more specific than bug fixes. It was broken on a bunch of devices with 4.1.2 and didn't work on the Note 2

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
     
  10. WookieClaws

    WookieClaws Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had that pop-up for a while, it started about 3 updates ago now. Annoying, but I've learned to adapt. I saw that SwiftKey is adding a 'flow' option like Swype. But it will still do the text prediction SwiftKey is known for. I will check it out and see if it works any better than Swype
     
  11. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,180
    Likes Received:
    3,623
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,070
    If swift flow is as good as advertised it will easily dominate the aftermarket keyboard apps in short order imo.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
     
  12. Durandgir

    Durandgir Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does look really nice, Swype has never really been that good IMO I'm only using it to adapt since 4.2 is rumored to have a "gesture input" keyboard which is swype basically from the rumor, and now with swift flow I really like the whole swiping approach.
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 swype issues
,
galaxy s3 swype not working
,
how to disable swype on galaxy s3
,
problems with swype
,
problems with swype on galaxy s3
,

samsung galaxy s3 swype problems

,
swype galaxy s3
,
swype not working galaxy s3
,
swype problems
,
swype problems galaxy s3