Any way to disable app foreground data?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by xeene, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,113
    Likes Received:
    911
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,049
    I know I can disable background data in data settings, but is there a way to do it also for foreground data? I don't want some apps to have any connection with the net but also don't want to disable data completely on the phone.
     
  2. GeLopez

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Are you talking about a firewall? You can allow and deny access to any app.
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,607
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,173
    Go into settings, data usage, and check set mobile limit. click on the app and you will be able to disable it from running in the background, ie g+, twitter, or other social apps that like to run wild in the background killing battery life.
     
  4. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,113
    Likes Received:
    911
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,049
    I'm talking about blocking some apps access to the net on my phone when I use them. Example...
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    I want to block coin dozer from accessing internet when I'm playing it.
     
    #4 xeene, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012
  5. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,607
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,173
    Hmm the only way i know, other than what i said, is to disable data while playing the game. Other than that not sure.
     
  6. kjcword

    kjcword Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bossier City, LA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would love to know this too. Seems like we should be able to disable all data to any given app.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  7. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
  8. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Xeene, this is a great suggestion. In fact, if I weren't rooted and needed to do what you are requesting, I would root just to use this app.

    Good luck.
     
Search tags for this page
android restrict foreground data
,
does coin dozer use data
,

foreground data

,
foreground data usage
,
how to restrict foreground data
,
restrict foreground data
,
restrict foreground data android
,
what does foreground data mean
,

what is foreground data

,
what is foreground data usage