1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Another Bionic that can't get a data connection... no 4G/3G/1X signal.. only wifi...

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by dlo-htown, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. dlo-htown
    Offline

    dlo-htown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in Houston. And unless Verizon is having network problems (ala Comcast cable), my Bionic is now unable to get any data signal on Verizons OTA system.

    Ya, I saw another thread, but I started a new one on purpose so that people can see if it's a growing problem instead of an isolated incident.

    If no data signal by tomorrow morning, my 1st stop will be to the Verizon store to exchange it. I will raise holy hell if they try to charge me anything for it too.

    I was hoping this phone was gonna kick ass... but with problems like this, it's practically at POS status in my book.
  2. RedBull
    Offline

    RedBull New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
  3. dlo-htown
    Offline

    dlo-htown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. moneyfornothing
    Offline

    moneyfornothing New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a reported issue with the phone. I only have 3G in my area, and the phone keeps dropping the data connection. It seems to be getting worse. Ive had mine since release day, and on release day I had no data for 3 hours...

    Today I have had to toggle airplane mode a few times, and then the last time, I had to reboot the phone...

    This is not related to any outage.
  5. vachick
    Offline

    vachick New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in VA and don't even have 1x. (We don't have 4G here in VA Beach yet) I had to turn on wifi to get any service. :-/ this started late this afternoon. Fairly widespread apparently.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. samsung rogue user
    Offline

    samsung rogue user New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Something is up with the data connection on this phone. My gf with her iphone 4 sitting right next to me... we don't get 4g, just 3g... gets great dl/upload speeds like a foot away from me. Mine is searching for 3g. 5 minutes no connection. And she just uploaded pictures and tagged me on fb. I love this phone... but damn.... my og droid got better reception.
  7. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im in the same boat im thinking of returning it and getting a new one but what if that has the same issue as the first thats the only issue with the phone i have now otherwise its rock solid no other issues
  8. Mondingo
    Offline

    Mondingo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Returning it for a new one won't make a difference. I did that already an same problem. I believe it's a software issue..

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. aarontsur
    Offline

    aarontsur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    yep, im having the same issue, its a known problem with this phone and they say it would be fixed next software release. i would think that verizon would make that fix sooner than that, if we all are having problems with the connection wouldnt it be nice if they gave a $h1t about us and fix it like today?
  10. aarontsur
    Offline

    aarontsur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    i have 3 ideas to make our voice heard.

    1. we all call verizon and demand to get credit for the data service until its fixed.
    2. we all return the phone until its fixed.
    3. we all make allot of noise about this on every blog site and on every forum. i want to hear about it on every news channel.
  11. ranlaw
    Offline

    ranlaw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And another one!

    Purchased yesterday. No connection today. Grrrrrr.
  12. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe we're just holding it wrong :D
    1 person likes this.
  13. Batman8
    Offline

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    I had very similar issues with my Bionic losing ALL data signals (4G, 3G and 1x) and I finally found the reason behind it. When getting my Bionic, the first thing I did (besides rooting it of course) was to sign in with my Google account information and then start to restore all of my hundreds of apps from my Droid-X. Then I started losing my data signal and NOTHING would bring it back... not toggling wifi, airplane mode, bluetooth, even rebooting the phone didn't help. Talking to Verizon AND Motorola for over an hour didn't do any good since neither of them could fix the problem.

    I then remembered what another Verizon technician told me a while back when having problems with my other Droids, and that was that "when upgrading to a new phone and having problems, DON'T RESTORE YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION/PROFILE when signing into your Google account on your new phone" because many times this information gets corrupted and restoring your profile by checking that box basically restores the errors too (sorry but I forget the actual name of this check box but it refers to your personal info, private data, profile or similar wording).

    Therefore, the only way I was able to get my data signal back was to unfortunately perform a "factory data reset" and NOT restore my private data, and I have had a strong data signal all day everyday since then (which was last week). I often switch from 3G to 4G and really never even drop down to 1x anymore. I have restored my apps and all is working great!

    I know that it can be a hassle to reset your phone because you'll have to put all of your apps/games back, but you do however still get all of you contacts, calendar events and everything back even without restoring your "personal data" and it was the ONLY way I was able to get past the crazy data loss issue. One more thing, when resetting the phone DO NOT select "erase internal storage" because for me that just caused the phone to sit there and hang therefore doing NOTHING forever, so ignore that check box too.

    I hope this info helps all who are having data signal issues since it surely cleared mines up and allowed me to enjoy the phone again.

    Good Luck.
  14. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This MAY explain some other issues I've had...

    I'll give it a try and report back.
  15. jst4fun
    Offline

    jst4fun New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PCB, Florida
    Had same problem. I finally was able to return my phone and get a replacement. The new phone works perfect.
  16. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's good to hear!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  17. Mondingo
    Offline

    Mondingo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am on my second bionic and this one has the same problem. All though it seems to work better , I believe it is a software issue they have to fix. Verizon will not give me another phone.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  18. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Such a PITA. You'd think something like this would have been fixed sooner

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  19. scdown
    Offline

    scdown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Just put a rubber band around it!
  20. Shadez
    Online

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,355
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Had same issue near philly, thought it was because I was near high power lines... shrug
Search tags for this page
bionic not receiving 4g or 3g
,
bionic only 1x service
,
can i get 3g on droid bionic
,
can wifi help me get a 4g signal from verizon?
,

droid bionic no 4g

,
droid bionic no 4g only 3g
,
droid bionic no 4g signal
,

droid bionic no data connection

,
droid bionic no data signal
,
droid bionic not getting 4g
,
i cannot get wifi on galaxy s3 net -10 when not at home . no
,
my at&t samsung galaxy 3 has no 3g or 4g signal at ohare air
,
no 4g data signal with the 4.1.2 upgrade on my bionic
,
what do you do if you cant get on your network mode on droid
,
why is my droid not getting data when other phones are