android.process.media has stopped unexpectedly

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by fordee11, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys.. i installed a gingerbread theme today, and now every couple minutes i get a message saying "the process android.process.media has stopped unexpectedly"

    any ideas?
     
  2. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,660
    I dont have an answer but my link will take you to our sister forum and an rs member can help you with it. They specialize in the fascinate being they have the device.
     
  3. X_TAC23

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    Which rom did you install it on top of.
     
  4. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    running sc 2.9.1

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  5. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would try starting from scratch and wipe everything again. Just a weird bug.

    sc 2.9v
    honeycomb theme
     
  6. fordee11

    fordee11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i reflashed sc and so far it hasnt showed up

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  7. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Glad to hear.

    sc 2.9v
    honeycomb theme
     
  8. k rock

    k rock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Detroit.
    Ratings:
    +0
    What gingerbread theme?

    Sent from my SC'd NitroHC V.2 Fascinate
     
  9. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might be due to flashing the wrong install over an incompatible Kernel. I did this with dj05 and dj09, flashing an incompatible rom.

    Be careful that you are sure you are flashing a compatible ROM.
     
  10. smackyjack

    smackyjack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Calif
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get the "android.process.media has stopped unexpectedly" error message at least twice a day and sometimes more. I have tried the following methods that were recommended on other Android forum threads:

    settings> apps> all: click download manager and clear data and cache
    and
    settings> apps> all: click media storage and clear data and cache

    But I still keep getting the error message intermittently (daily). I am not sure what is causing the error message and the ramifications. My Verizon GNex is not rooted. I have had the phone since December 15th, but this issue didn't start until a couple weeks ago. Not sure if it is due to a conflict with one of the downloaded apps. Other than this nuisance, I love the phone. I greatly appreciate feedback and suggestions.
     
  11. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I hate to recommend this, but if it was my phone I would do a Factory Data Reset. Backup your personal stuff on your sdcard to a pc first.

    Factory Data Resets have gotten pretty painless lately by following these simple steps: 1. Make sure Backup and Restore are checked in the Privacy setting. 2. When going through the setup after the reset, turn on wifi as soon as you can (assuming it is available). 3. After you have entered your Gmail account info, you will be presented with a screen that has two check boxes. Basically they are "Do you want Google to backup and restore this phone”. Make sure you check both of those. 4. Open the Market app and accept the market terms. 5. Your apps will then automatically reinstall (paid and free). Set the phone aside for a minute or two and let the apps download and install.

    Good luck.
     
  12. thinkdifferent25

    thinkdifferent25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    smackyjack: Please let us know if this works...

    smackyjack: Please let us know if this works...

    I'm having the same issue. If you're going to go through the hassle of resetting your GalNex, please spare me of the pain and let me know.

    Thanks!!
     
  13. smackyjack

    smackyjack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Calif
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't done the reset yet.

    I am waiting on the reset. I only received the error message once today and I still don't have any idea how (or if) it is affecting performance on the GNex. I appreciate the advice from BayouFlyFisher, but I think that I will wait for the next ICS update and see if that cures the issue. I will update this thread if I change my mind.
     
  14. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I actually had this happening same errors when I first got my Gnex. The Verizon guy that got the phone ready skiped the google login when first activating the phone and starting up for the first time. Don't know if that had anything to do with it. But after doing a factory reset and then logging in straight away to google after initializing the stock ROM again havn't seen the problem since. And I had done the OTA 4.0.2 update soon as I got home. Anyway a factory reset seemed to fix it and then doing things as normal when using the phone for the first time.
     
  15. smackyjack

    smackyjack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Calif
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I finally gave in. I did a factory reset today. So far no error messages.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

android process media has stopped

,
cara mengatasi android.process.media has stopped
,

cara mengatasi unfortunately the process android process med

,

cara mengatasi unfortunately the process android.process.med

,
cara mengatasi unfortunately.media
,

lá»—i android.process.media

,
lá»—i unfortunately the process android.process.media has st
,
mengatasi android.process.media has stopped
,

process com android mms has stopped unexpectedly

,
unfortunately the process android process media has stopped lenovo