1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Alphanumeric password problem

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by eversowrong, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. eversowrong
    Offline

    eversowrong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just unboxed my new Droid 4, and I really like it so far. However, I'm having a minor issue.

    I have a number of passwords I use for various accounts. All went well until I attempted to synch my Photobucket account. It refused to accept my password. I retyped it several times in order to account for user error, and each time it told me the password was invalid. Hmmmm. No biggie, so far.

    Then I tried to log into some accounts, and encountered a similar issue. Rejected! Denied! Fail!

    It seems that it doesn't recognize passwords that contain the number 1.

    I tried using the QWERTY, the touchscreen and the SWYPE inputs, to no avail. I checked the number in other applications, and it was perfectly usable.

    I guess it's not a dealbreaker - it's easy enough to change passwords for.. gulp... five accounts, wait, no, eight accounts. :mad:

    I'm just wondering... what's up with that? Is there a fix? Is anyone else having a problem like this?
  2. diablo85
    Offline

    diablo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you maybe hit the shift key one too many times before pressing the number one key? i use 1 in a number of passwords without an issue typing them in on the D4.
  3. eversowrong
    Offline

    eversowrong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That occured to me; in fact, that was my first thought, since my passwords have caps as well. I tried it on multiple accounts with different passwords and it seems to be happening with all of them.

    I went though all the basic problem solving steps -making sure everything was typed properly, making sure I was posting from the proper account, shutting down and restaring, etc, before I posted, because it didn't seem possible to me that it wasn't a mistake I was making.

    It's good to know that yours works - that indicates its not a problem with the Droid 4, just MY Droid 4. I can't think of any reason why that would be the only occurence of the 1 not working. It seems like if it were a defect with the keyboard, the 1 would not work in any application. Same if it were a software issue.

    It's not a terrible problem, just a really weird one.
  4. reybie
    Offline

    reybie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried typing the password in a notepad or something to see if you're getting the correct case/number? I noticed that the comma on mine needs a little bit more pressure than the other keys.
  5. eversowrong
    Offline

    eversowrong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't try that exact thing, but I did use the "show characters" option and the passwords were correct. (I actually double-checked them on another machine to be quite sure I wasn't losing my mind.)
  6. reybie
    Offline

    reybie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is quite interesting. I'm stumped! :confused:
Search tags for this page

android accept alphanumeric password

,

android- 15 alpha numeric number

,

does s4 support alphanumeric passwords

,

fix for alphanumeric password in andriod

,

how do i enter alpha numberic password on my droid ultra

,

invalid number on verizon voicemail

,

user alphanumeric password is invalid