1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Alphanumeric password problem

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by eversowrong, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. eversowrong
    Offline

    eversowrong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just unboxed my new Droid 4, and I really like it so far. However, I'm having a minor issue.

    I have a number of passwords I use for various accounts. All went well until I attempted to synch my Photobucket account. It refused to accept my password. I retyped it several times in order to account for user error, and each time it told me the password was invalid. Hmmmm. No biggie, so far.

    Then I tried to log into some accounts, and encountered a similar issue. Rejected! Denied! Fail!

    It seems that it doesn't recognize passwords that contain the number 1.

    I tried using the QWERTY, the touchscreen and the SWYPE inputs, to no avail. I checked the number in other applications, and it was perfectly usable.

    I guess it's not a dealbreaker - it's easy enough to change passwords for.. gulp... five accounts, wait, no, eight accounts. :mad:

    I'm just wondering... what's up with that? Is there a fix? Is anyone else having a problem like this?
  2. diablo85
    Offline

    diablo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you maybe hit the shift key one too many times before pressing the number one key? i use 1 in a number of passwords without an issue typing them in on the D4.
  3. eversowrong
    Offline

    eversowrong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That occured to me; in fact, that was my first thought, since my passwords have caps as well. I tried it on multiple accounts with different passwords and it seems to be happening with all of them.

    I went though all the basic problem solving steps -making sure everything was typed properly, making sure I was posting from the proper account, shutting down and restaring, etc, before I posted, because it didn't seem possible to me that it wasn't a mistake I was making.

    It's good to know that yours works - that indicates its not a problem with the Droid 4, just MY Droid 4. I can't think of any reason why that would be the only occurence of the 1 not working. It seems like if it were a defect with the keyboard, the 1 would not work in any application. Same if it were a software issue.

    It's not a terrible problem, just a really weird one.
  4. reybie
    Offline

    reybie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried typing the password in a notepad or something to see if you're getting the correct case/number? I noticed that the comma on mine needs a little bit more pressure than the other keys.
  5. eversowrong
    Offline

    eversowrong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't try that exact thing, but I did use the "show characters" option and the passwords were correct. (I actually double-checked them on another machine to be quite sure I wasn't losing my mind.)
  6. reybie
    Offline

    reybie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is quite interesting. I'm stumped! :confused:
Search tags for this page

android accept alphanumeric password

,

android- 15 alpha numeric number

,

does s4 support alphanumeric passwords

,

fix for alphanumeric password in andriod

,

how do i enter alpha numberic password on my droid ultra

,

invalid number on verizon voicemail

,

user alphanumeric password is invalid