Ads and Data Cap?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by darkmatter, May 19, 2012.

  1. darkmatter

    darkmatter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Maybe this has been answered, idk.

    I noticed that word with friends is trying to load vids for ads, and vids = a lot of data. Do ads count towards your data cap? If so, this whole cap thing is bs. Either give me unlimited data and ads, or cap and no ads. Hell, vzw could turn that into a feature, lol. $10 or whatever a month, and unlimited data and no ads.... I dunno, lol. But the question still stands.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. vatothe0

    vatothe0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ads do count, but that's up to the content provider to have ads or not.
    Verizon is looking at allowing content providers to pay for the data transfer used by their aps so they don't count against your cap though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    You can also root and download an ad blocker if you're worried about going over your cap.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. darkmatter

    darkmatter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm still unlimited, for now lol. But yea, I was just curious about the average, unrooted, user. And that it would be bs for ads to count towards the data cap since that's data we can't control under normal circumstances.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. vatothe0

    vatothe0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Don't use aps with ads, that's how you control it. Someone has to pay for that bandwidth and it won't be the carriers.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page

ads data caps