A way to block ICS when it is ready?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by heath223, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. heath223

    heath223 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    When ICS is ready and starts getting pushed to the Bionic(IF it ever happens) would there be a way to block it? I ask B/C say they get the data drop fixed before that happens, at this time the data drop is my only gripe with my Bionic. I would hate to upgrade to ICS and have it have other issues. I would rather go without ICS for a while and let others find the bugs and wait till they are fixed first.
     
  2. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    :popped out::shocked-b::serious: surely there will be a way, but I don't see the Bionic getting ICS until March - even though January has been thrown around
     
  3. Scribble

    Scribble Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I believe if you root your phone it takes you off the OTA upgrade path.
     
  4. wseyller

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +9
    Rooting alone is not enough to keep your phone from allowing an OTA.
     
  5. droidbionicmaster

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Id take the ota for ics. To stop all that bloatware from being on ur phone.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. RacingTiger03

    RacingTiger03 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    if Moto's track record proves solid... add at LEAST 2 months to whatever date moto estimates the ICS to be released. OTA... Bionic... etc :p

    that said, I'm sure the devs will come out with something to get rid of that pesky notification. On the D1 pete made a script to stop it from giving you the OTA notification. Also, from what I've been reading the idea is ICS will play much better with the mobile world than what GB did. while optimizing many things gingerbread also created a lot of issues, most of which were later resolved, so I get where you're coming from. Supposedly that isn't going to be the case with ICS... we shall see.
     
    #6 RacingTiger03, Nov 22, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2011
  7. wseyller

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +9
    I remember doing it manually on the D1 by modifying the build.prop file. Essentially make the phone think it has the latest version.
     
  8. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,941
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +321
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
    I also think ICS is a ways away yet but you can root your phone and use Titanium Back Up Pro to freeze the updater. That should do the trick! I'm sure there will be a pre release ICS leak that is pre rooted and flashable so you can try it out. And if it's crap, just SBF back to GB.
     
  9. Scribble

    Scribble Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Really? That's the main reason I've never rooted: everything I read says when you root you won't get the OTAs anymore... Are you saying I've been unrooted all this time for no reason? :( whaaaa
     
  10. wseyller

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes really. You can even install the OTA after rooting and your software will be updated and you will lose root. This is considering you don't remove or freeze any stock apps. If you remove or freeze any stock apps the update will fail when you try to install it. You would have to restore any stock apps before the ota will allow installation.