*228 destroys sim card

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Droid Firefighter, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    I'm in a Verizon store right now. Behind their counter at every computer is a sign in large print that says "do not use *228 on the thunderbolt!!! It will destroy the sim card!! I asked why and they said the sim card updates automatically. It gets fried if you do it yourself. Hope this helps.
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. ASN-121

    ASN-121 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mesa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Confirming this, had two reps tell me this when I picked mine up.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  3. lnslip

    lnslip New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did this not thinking about it when i first got the phone. its still fine. everything works. then again it wouldnt even connect when i did it. phone still works crazy good!
     
  4. wctaylor79

    wctaylor79 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Island in Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah first got phone did this and *228# and then remembered something I had found a while back that there was no need to do this.. phone running great.. and 4G working great too.. So assuming sim card is fine..
     
  5. DJStormX

    DJStormX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh wow...thanks for the post! was doing this all yesterday and figured it was a software issue. Thanks for the heads up!
     
  6. CsonkaBear

    CsonkaBear Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SW OH.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good info. First time I have heard that.

    Thanks.
     
  7. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine wouldn't let me dial *228. It would act like it was going to connect the call but immediately hang up. I tried multiple times. Reason I was trying was because the Verizon site told me to after I changed my phone number online (post Thunderbolt purchase). Won't try it ever after reading this.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  8. digdug1

    digdug1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the stupid rep at my local vzw did this to mine! she said the phone defaulted and did it itself but i saw HER do it lol. and they had to put a new sim card in it which my the way is not a quick process but i will spare you the details.

    new sim phone working great!
     
  9. nerdkill

    nerdkill Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a different issue. My upgrade was available on a different line. Apparently when you upgrade it immediately burns the sim card of the device and there's nothing you can do about it. So, lucky me got to purchase a second sim card before I ever touched the phone @ $20. Super frustrating.
     
  10. Batwaffel

    Batwaffel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same. Verizon's site directed me to that and it instantly hung up. Good thing too I guess. It was quite the process to actually get everything in working order.
     
  11. n0yxl

    n0yxl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope that Verizon has allot of spare Sim cards in that case.

    Question: So, if people are used to dailing *228 to update PRL; why design a system that will destroy itself, when you dail *228? That just seems dumber than dumb to me.

    My guess is that VZW will figure out a solution to this, I just hope that they have lots of spare Sim cards available for their customers.
     
  12. Batwaffel

    Batwaffel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was probably something that was overlooked since this is pretty new technology for Verizon.
     
  13. trebb

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 4G hasn't worked since I turned the phone on - I tried to dial *228. However, it wouldn't even go through. Does that mean my SIM is still messed up?
     
  14. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +165
    When my phone was delivered on Friday I looked at the paperwork. I had purchased it on my daughter's eligible line and told them when I ordered I was doing an Alternate Upgrade. Reps should know by now what that means. It means that it should automatically accept the Terms and Conditions on the line the upgrade was for and then activate on the line it was bought for. Well, the rep I purchased from completely ignored my request and just ordered it on my daughter's line. I inserted the SIM card, turned on the phone and it went into activation mode. I would have had no way to contact my daughter to explain to her that her iPhone was not in service. So I disconnected the battery, contacted VZW, did the the accepting T&C through the IVR and then he manually put it on my line. At first it wasn't activating, but after about 3 minutes magically it went through. I'm sure I could have had some really nasty issues like some of you are having now.
     
  15. Screwbal

    Screwbal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If u ever needed to update the pri couldn't u just remove the sim then? It's it only needed for 4g but without it 3G should be fine and still work and let u do *228?
     
Similar Threads
  1. whoneedssox
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,915
  2. dolfanpete
    Replies:
    32
    Views:
    3,830
  3. cawp
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    6,358
  4. Ohyea!
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    573
  5. kandj200
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    820
Loading...
Search tags for this page

*228 sim card

,
activate thunderbolt without sim card
,
code to destroy sim card
,
destroy sim card
,

how to destroy a sim card

,

how to destroy sim card

,
how to reset a sim card for verizon
,

how to ruin a sim card

,
how to ruin sim card
,
use thunderbolt without sim card