*228 destroys sim card

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Droid Firefighter, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    I'm in a Verizon store right now. Behind their counter at every computer is a sign in large print that says "do not use *228 on the thunderbolt!!! It will destroy the sim card!! I asked why and they said the sim card updates automatically. It gets fried if you do it yourself. Hope this helps.
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. ASN-121

    ASN-121 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mesa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Confirming this, had two reps tell me this when I picked mine up.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  3. lnslip

    lnslip New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did this not thinking about it when i first got the phone. its still fine. everything works. then again it wouldnt even connect when i did it. phone still works crazy good!
     
  4. wctaylor79

    wctaylor79 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Island in Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah first got phone did this and *228# and then remembered something I had found a while back that there was no need to do this.. phone running great.. and 4G working great too.. So assuming sim card is fine..
     
  5. DJStormX

    DJStormX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh wow...thanks for the post! was doing this all yesterday and figured it was a software issue. Thanks for the heads up!
     
  6. CsonkaBear

    CsonkaBear Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SW OH.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good info. First time I have heard that.

    Thanks.
     
  7. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine wouldn't let me dial *228. It would act like it was going to connect the call but immediately hang up. I tried multiple times. Reason I was trying was because the Verizon site told me to after I changed my phone number online (post Thunderbolt purchase). Won't try it ever after reading this.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  8. digdug1

    digdug1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the stupid rep at my local vzw did this to mine! she said the phone defaulted and did it itself but i saw HER do it lol. and they had to put a new sim card in it which my the way is not a quick process but i will spare you the details.

    new sim phone working great!
     
  9. nerdkill

    nerdkill Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a different issue. My upgrade was available on a different line. Apparently when you upgrade it immediately burns the sim card of the device and there's nothing you can do about it. So, lucky me got to purchase a second sim card before I ever touched the phone @ $20. Super frustrating.
     
  10. Batwaffel

    Batwaffel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same. Verizon's site directed me to that and it instantly hung up. Good thing too I guess. It was quite the process to actually get everything in working order.
     
  11. n0yxl

    n0yxl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope that Verizon has allot of spare Sim cards in that case.

    Question: So, if people are used to dailing *228 to update PRL; why design a system that will destroy itself, when you dail *228? That just seems dumber than dumb to me.

    My guess is that VZW will figure out a solution to this, I just hope that they have lots of spare Sim cards available for their customers.
     
  12. Batwaffel

    Batwaffel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was probably something that was overlooked since this is pretty new technology for Verizon.
     
Similar Threads
  1. whoneedssox
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    3,442
  2. dolfanpete
    Replies:
    32
    Views:
    4,991
  3. cawp
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    7,012
  4. Ohyea!
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    870
  5. kandj200
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,100
Loading...
Search tags for this page
activate thunderbolt without sim card
,
code for distorying sim card
,
destroy sim card
,
how to destroy a sim
,

how to destroy a sim card

,

how to destroy sim card

,
how to destroy sim cards
,

how to ruin a sim card

,
how to ruin sim card
,
use thunderbolt without sim card