*228 destroys sim card

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Droid Firefighter, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. trebb

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 4G hasn't worked since I turned the phone on - I tried to dial *228. However, it wouldn't even go through. Does that mean my SIM is still messed up?
     
  2. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    When my phone was delivered on Friday I looked at the paperwork. I had purchased it on my daughter's eligible line and told them when I ordered I was doing an Alternate Upgrade. Reps should know by now what that means. It means that it should automatically accept the Terms and Conditions on the line the upgrade was for and then activate on the line it was bought for. Well, the rep I purchased from completely ignored my request and just ordered it on my daughter's line. I inserted the SIM card, turned on the phone and it went into activation mode. I would have had no way to contact my daughter to explain to her that her iPhone was not in service. So I disconnected the battery, contacted VZW, did the the accepting T&C through the IVR and then he manually put it on my line. At first it wasn't activating, but after about 3 minutes magically it went through. I'm sure I could have had some really nasty issues like some of you are having now.
     
  3. Screwbal

    Screwbal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If u ever needed to update the pri couldn't u just remove the sim then? It's it only needed for 4g but without it 3G should be fine and still work and let u do *228?
     
  4. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    pardon my ignorance here, i didnt know the thunderbolt had a sim to begin with ....

    whats it for, just lte or does it allow overseas use of the phone as well ?

    posted via android
     
  5. xier

    xier Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Does everything but 4G work? I have two TB's -- the first one auto activated but the 2nd one had a sim problem - once sim was replaced it was a few seconds to activate.
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Though off topic I'd like to know why it has a Sim Card swell. My guess is it's necessary to access the 4G netwwork.
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    1,518
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,654
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Yes LTE uses a sim card.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  8. drivinfocused

    drivinfocused Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Niagra of the West(Twin Falls, Idaho)
    Ratings:
    +3
    i believe IIRC that the sim is for the 4G network...
     
  9. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct. The sim card if for LTE. It will not work over seas. However, I believe 3g will not work without the sim either.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
  10. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe ... then this is verizon's first step moving towards GSM technology .... ?
    given the age of CDMA and it's years of upgrades .... or if LTE is not quite GSM, perhaps there will be a merger or joining of the technologies such that all verizon phones in the next few years will all accept sim cards.

    rumor has it iphone 5 may come with the ability to activate on any network, so it may have cdma/gsm radios all in one chip
     
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    1,518
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,654
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    CDMA and GSM are about the same age. LTE is 4G newer/better than GSM.
    The Iphone5 would do best to be a LTE phone. Wether its 3g radio is CDMA or GSM will depend on the network.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  12. ke0kie

    ke0kie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My thunderbolt is being delivered tomorrow. I upgraded from another device on the Vz website.

    What is *228, and why would I enter it in the first place? Is there something I should know before I try to transfer service from my existing phone to the thunderbolt tomorrow?

    --Scott
     
Similar Threads
  1. whoneedssox
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    3,507
  2. dolfanpete
    Replies:
    32
    Views:
    5,095
  3. cawp
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    7,059
  4. Ohyea!
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    891
  5. kandj200
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,131
Loading...
Search tags for this page
activate thunderbolt without sim card
,
code for distorying sim card
,
destroy sim card
,
how to destroy a sim
,

how to destroy a sim card

,

how to destroy sim card

,
how to destroy sim cards
,

how to ruin a sim card

,
how to ruin sim card
,
use thunderbolt without sim card