2.2.1 on a rooted phone

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by djgdroid, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. djgdroid
    Offline

    djgdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you do if you have a rooted phone and there is an OTA update (2.2.1)? Will doing the update screw up your root? Not sure what to do? Any help would be appreciated.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You will have to bring your Droid back to stock to accept the update.
  3. ekf028
    Offline

    ekf028 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    It screwed up mine

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    It showed up, but did it install?
  5. djgdroid
    Offline

    djgdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Hook, I'll give it a go. Appreciate the quick reply.
  6. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I have clockworkmod recovery and I couldn't install the update either. Now that I check for updates it doesn't even show the update.
  7. stratjb
    Offline

    stratjb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's not completely true. If you rooted without loading SPRecovery or ClockWork Recovery (using one of the one click methods) then the update WILL install and WILL break your root. The SuperUser icon will still be in your drawer but no apps that require root will be able to get root.

    I tried re-rooting with z4root and soup or root and both failed. Had to use Super one click to first un-root and then re-root.

    Hope this helps.
  8. ekf028
    Offline

    ekf028 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    I had the same problem with z4root, where did you get this super one click?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  9. turtleboyf
    Offline

    turtleboyf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if I have SPRecovery with stock 2.2 will I loose root if I do the latest OTA update?
  10. stratjb
    Offline

    stratjb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's the link for the latest Super One Click Root -
    [APP]SuperOneClick v1.5.5 (Root, Unroot, Enable Non-Market App, Get UNLOCK code) - xda-developers
  11. stratjb
    Offline

    stratjb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe that SPRecovery oe ClockWork recovery) will block the update from be installed.
  12. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. pylopor
    Offline

    pylopor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. thered
    Offline

    thered New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So what is the best way for me to get FRG83D on my Droid 1? I'm rooted with stock recovery using this method. If I use metiCkOne's ROM and place that update.zip on my sdcard, that wipe all my data, right?

    Is there any rooted FRG83D update I can manually apply? Who had success with the 1 click root?

    Should I just update it OTA and then root it again somehow?

    Thanks!
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010
  15. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are rooted and running a recovery such as Clockworkmod, you can install the FRG83D zip from this website: Peter Alfonso

    This is a stock FRG83D update/ROM but WILL maintain your root! You can install a complete rooted ROM or apply the incremental OTA update.

    This is NOT recommended, but I did not clear cache, and I did not do a factory reset, and I did not clear dalvik cache. I simply applied complete rooted FRG83D ROM, and it worked fine. Thus, I did not need to restore or re-download any apps. Do a nandoid backup first just to be safe. Also, common sense tells you to do a factory reset first, though I have no common sense. Doing it my way is risky and foolish.

    The only other issue is that the complete ROM update restores the stock kernel, if you choose that option. If you run a custom kernel (for overclocking or whatever), simply reinstall your previous kernel after the update, if you do the whole ROM. You don't even need to reboot in between. Just apply the FRD83D zip, then the kernel zip of your choice while in the same recovery session, then reboot. Neall
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2010
  16. gbrettmiller
    Offline

    gbrettmiller New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    This definitely helps. Time to unroot....
  17. skeezicks
    Offline

    skeezicks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. I was rooted and running Clockworkmod when the OTA showed up a few days ago. I accepted it, but simply went into Clockworkmod's recovery. All's fine, but I'd like that OTA, and I'd rather get it over the air rather than installing Pete's version (mainly because I don't have the patience to wipe cache and data and get all the stuff set up again). Will Verizon push out the OTA again? Going to setup/System update, my Droid tells me that the "system is currently up to date."

    Thanks to anyone who has answers!
  18. albyone
    Offline

    albyone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Soup or Root 2.04 Beta

    For anyone trying to root an original Droid 1 that has 2.2.1 FRG83D, I used "Soup or Root 2.04 Beta". After two tries, it worked like a charm. Afterwards, I got setCPU and Barnacle WiFi to work as root.
  19. Runge_Kutta
    Offline

    Runge_Kutta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I've been stock droid user since early last year: tried SuperOneClick and got root first try.

    Important:

    Use Windows XP like i did, known to have less issues with SOC

    promptly downloaded, installed, and now run some basics: SetCPU, Wireless Tether, shake for screenie (drocap2).

    - droid 2.2.1 FRG83D -
Search tags for this page

super one click 2 .1 .1