1.1.1 seems buggy. I think I'm out.

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by Big D, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The search button doesn't work. There are blank spots that delete icons. Bunch of little stuff.

    Noticeably more buggy than the previous itteration for me.
     
  2. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it is fine. I have been using it since this morning without any major issues. The search bar issue was a quick easy fix. I just want someone to explain to me what is better about the camera fix in this release.
     
  3. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    could you explain the "search" fix for me?
     
  4. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem. Basically the Google Voice Search and Google Search were removed as System apps and are now downloaded from the Market. When you download just the Voice Search app it loads ok but there is a quirk with the widget. Once I loaded the regular Google Search and put that widget on the home screen everything worked fine. I am not sure why it does that and if it is a wide spread thing but mine is working great now which is a good thing because I use it a lot everyday.
     
  5. kook

    kook Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it has to do with how some of the Google apps are named. They keep changing from build to build. It's not Sapphire's fault.
     
  6. Eschy

    Eschy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i personally find it to be a bit faster, noticeably in the market. Which was really bad in 1.1.0.
     
  7. Eschy

    Eschy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    to fix the search button run this in terminal emulator (credit Sniffle)
    su
    sysrw
    mv /data/app/com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox-1.apk /system/app/GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk
    sysro
    reboot (again, not sure you need to do this, but it's safe)
    if that doesnt work which it didnt for me go into root manager to /data/app/com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox-1.apk edit>move.
    then go to /system/app and paste. edit>rename GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk. reboot and done
     
  8. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    THAT's the easy fix?
     
  9. Armyof2

    Armyof2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Temecula, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    hrm i don't have the com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox-1.apk in that location...don't suppose you could yank it and post it up on megaupload or something?
     
  10. Eschy

    Eschy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only way it could be easier is if I did it for you myself, if you don't know how to do this you shouldn't be flashing custom roms. This is pretty simple method and the only 1 i know of so far
     
  11. Armyof2

    Armyof2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Temecula, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    nothing worth doing ever is ;)
     
  12. Eschy

    Eschy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try downloading it in the market first. It wont install but you should still get the apk if not let me know and I will upload it later when I get home