Yes, I'm a Newbie

gobronx

Reaction score
Just found this sight a few days ago as I researched rooting and whether it's worth considering on my Dinc2. I like this phone, but I'm having some serious problems lately.

About two months ago, I started seeing the gray battery with exclamation mark. Not always on, but I started seeing this more frequently. I still haven't figured out what this is really indicating.

A few weeks ago, I noticed a "+" sign in my notifications. Seems like I'm getting spammed somehow. I noticed battery issues and serious drainage. So I downloaded Lookout and some other apps but no virus found. After battery issues became too much to handle and I was not fully charging or really charging at all, I performed a factory reset and rebuilt the phone. I even had the "Connect to Charger" icon pop up on the screen while I was plugged into my home and car chargers. To clarify, I'm not yet rooted.

I was able to get a full charge initially after the reset. The "+" is now gone but the gray battery exclamation is not. I ensured that I have a tight battery fit, cleaned contacts, etc. I started to investigate and tried to cycle the full charge with phone off, then on, then off, etc. That was two days ago. But now, I can't get more than a 55% charge per Battery Minder. In fact, as the phone is plugged in with Amber light and charging icon, I can see the Battery Minder charge decreasing.

Very confused and not sure what to do. To make matters worse, my phone saw some light watering which partially activated the water damage indicator on the phone (battery indicator is fine). This happened three months ago before all the issues started. But Big Red is sure to void the warranty.

What can I do?

Last edited:

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+
Welcome to Droid Forums!