Why are my text messages threads now?

johnnyguitar

Reaction score
I am new to droid and am really enjoying most everything about it except for the text messaging functions. Why are they now in thread format? I really wish i could have them like I had on my old ENv2 phone where each message was it's unique and not attached to dozens of other messages to/from that person. Is there any way to change some settings somewhere to stop threading the SMS's?

gsu_golfer

Reaction score
I don't see a way to do it, but I'm on a Pro, so it might be different.

Just out of curiosity, why do you want to go to the single messages?

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Not really. You could download handcent sms from the marketplace and enable pop ups. This will make each individual message pop up un screen but ultimately they will still reside in a thread with that contacts sms. There may be another way but not that I know of/definately not with the stock messaging.

tappin and a talkin

dezymond

Tech Support Mod
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
I don't know of any apps that would just have it go to one message per window. Handcent or ChompSMS has individual pop up messages, but as spaz stated, they'll collect in a thread.

I don't know why you'd want it different, but this makes it easier to access older texts. To each his own......I guess

OP
J

johnnyguitar

Reaction score
The reason I don't like it is because I like seeing all the messages separately, and i can scroll between messages rather than having to keep going back a screen to see the other threads then goping back into another thread, only to have to go back out again and select a different thread. It also remembers my last trhread so it opens up usually where I don't want it to be. Just plain annoying.:icon_evil:

JoeeDB

Reaction score