Which ROM to try and the whole process?

Lakaduce

Reaction score
My phone has been running sluggish lately, and I'm not eligible for an upgrade until May, so I'm ready to flash a new ROM to breathe some new life into my old Droid X.

I'm looking for a place that compares features on each one, with screenshots, to decide which may be the best for the old X.

Also, if someone can help and guide me step-by-step on what I need to do to avoid bricking the phone. I'm currently running a rooted version of GB 4.5.473.MB810.Verizon.en.US. So do I need to go back to stock Froyo to flash the ROM or can I do it with CWM bootloader?

I'm not a total newbie but this is my first ROM update so any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

leftspin

Reaction score
My phone has been running sluggish lately, and I'm not eligible for an upgrade until May, so I'm ready to flash a new ROM to breathe some new life into my old Droid X.

I'm looking for a place that compares features on each one, with screenshots, to decide which may be the best for the old X.

Also, if someone can help and guide me step-by-step on what I need to do to avoid bricking the phone. I'm currently running a rooted version of GB 4.5.473.MB810.Verizon.en.US. So do I need to go back to stock Froyo to flash the ROM or can I do it with CWM bootloader?

I'm not a total newbie but this is my first ROM update so any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

The first thing I'd do would be to SBF to the latest stock .602 Gingerbread build (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-x-rooted-help/100038-complete-droid-x-sbf-flashing-guide.html) using this SBF: MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

then re root (you will need a computer), flash CWM like you normally would, and flash the ROM you've chosen.