Want to root new phone on 6.12.181 -- should I take OTA 6.16.211 first?

Jayfore

Reaction score
I've been reading thru posts on this site for about the last hour, after attempting to root my phone unsuccessfully using this method. Here, I saw the sticky about how to root, but it pertains to Gingerbread and not ICS, so I assume that does not apply to me. Is there a similar guide here, for ICS? I am no expert in rooting -- I rooted my HTC EVO 4G (Sprint) and loaded a custom ROM, and love it. Looks like I won't be able to do as much of that on this RAZR, but I would definitely like to root if I can, for starters. Can anyone point me in the right direction, for a good breakdown of what is needed?

I just activated the phone today. It's on 6.12.181 and wants me to take the OTA 6.16.211 update. Not sure if I should do this right now? I'm guessing I should, and then I should attempt rooting thru whatever method, but I will wait for confirmation. Also, I saw the Droid RAZR Utility 1.8, but am not totally sure what all that will do for me. Looks like it will get me root access, but there is other stuff too.

Please help a n00b out! Thank you!

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
The 1.8 Utility is about as easy as it gets. Enable USB Debugging, plug it in to your laptop or PC, make sure Motorola drivers are installed, then run the utility and select option 2.

But 1.8 is for ICS ... there is a Utility for rooting Gingerbread as well, it's version 1.6.

As far as upgrading from Gingerbread to ICS, that choice is pretty much yours. Some like it, some don't, but everyone's mileage varies. :)

TisMyDroid

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Samsung Note 3