Things "missing" in ICS for Bionic

puckalicious

Reaction score
Since I'm new to ICS running on my Bionic, thought I'd share a few things I miss from GB.

- No shortcut for Voice Commands. Found an app for it though. I need it for my car dock home screen.

- No shortcut for video camera, only still camera. Nice to go straight to the video function instead of having to move the slider, like when in the car dock.

- Flash. Yeah there is Flash but performance is crap and will not play embedded video in web pages.

- Google Car Home. Very simple but effective home screen for the car dock. The new built in one looks much nicer but is much more clumsy to use.

- Going to Contacts from within Dialer app. Can't do it anymore... personal preference I suppose.

- Alarms full screen display; clock is much smaller and harder for my glasses-less eyes to see in bed. Nitpicking, I know. Yes I realize there are a million alarm clock apps.

- Have not looked yet, but is there an HDMI-out hack in ICS like GB that allows any on screen video to output via HDMI?

tjk629

Silver Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
NEXUS 6
- No shortcut for Voice Commands. Found an app for it though. I need it for my car dock home screen.

Few ways around this:

1.) menu > system settings > accessibility > double tap home launch. Voice Commands is for Nuance and voice search is stock android
2.) Long press on the search key
3.) If you have the Bionic card dock then voice search is on the car dock homescreen

- Going to Contacts from within Dialer app. Can't do it anymore... personal preference I suppose.

While in the dialer press the search key

- Have not looked yet, but is there an HDMI-out hack in ICS like GB that allows any on screen video to output via HDMI?

You could try webtop mode (you don't need a dock anymore) and see if it will. I haven't had any problems with video output myself.

tjk629

Silver Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
NEXUS 6