Swype v3.25 Beta - Not working on Bionic?

gsDroid

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
513
Reaction score
3
Location
Colorado
I copied and pasted this from a post on AndroidForums from user PhilD: Just giving credit. I followed these and have the newest Swype. As you see, root is required. Also, follow the step-by-step instructions on the swype site for installing. I just kept my computer screen on the page while I did the install.

the instructions below from the Swype forums worked on my Droid X, haven't had time to try it on my Bionic yet, but i assume it will work. root is required, and guys, there is no recovery yet so PLEASE do not delete the original files, just rename them so you can restore the original version back at a later date if needed:


1. Change your default input method to anything other than Swype.
2. Mount file system as R/W
3. Delete (or move/rename) \system\app\swype.apk
4. Delete (or move/rename) \data\dalvik-cache\system@app@Swype.apk@classes.dex
5. Delete (or move/rename) \system\lib\libSwypeCore.so
6. Reboot
7. Download and Run the latest Swype Beta installer
 

them0nk

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Not to thread Jack, I've ditched swype a long time ago... Ultra keyboard is far superior... just enable tracing.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
 

Wera750

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Tried the instructions above, didn't work. I renamed the files xxxxxxxx.rapk , xxxxxx.rdex, etc. No luck though. Any ideas?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
 

gsDroid

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
513
Reaction score
3
Location
Colorado
Tried the instructions above, didn't work. I renamed the files xxxxxxxx.rapk , xxxxxx.rdex, etc. No luck though. Any ideas?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
The instructions worked for many people. You could try again and follow the instructions on their web page very closely. Sorry you weren't successful.
 

nawdman

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Location
Nebraska
I have it use system app remover to remove old Swype from system apps then install 3.25 from Swype installer

Sent from my DROID BIONIC
 

Wera750

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Awesome! That way worked like a charm! Thanks!

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
 

PhilD

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
114
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
I copied and pasted this from a post on AndroidForums from user PhilD: Just giving credit...]
Thanks! but i don't deserve the credit, the instructions were originally posted on Swype's forums in this thread: Tutorial: Installing Beta Swype on Droid X. i successfully installed Beta 3.25 on my Bionic using these instructions, i did have a few force closes immediately after, but it has been working perfectly since. for the Swype haters out there, i stopped using Swype a long time ago because i hated the word correction popup box in the earlier builds. in the new builds (including 3.21 pre-installed in the Bionic), Swype uses the word correction bar introduced in Gingerbread (i think), works fantastic now. one thing i did notice is that the Beta 3.25 keyboard appears to be a little shorter in portrait mode than the pre-installed version. it is 1.25 inches from the bottom of the space bar to the top of the letter Y in first row (i.e., vertical extent in portrait mode not including word correction bar). this means the keys are a bit harder to accurately hit when not swyping (swyping is still amazingly accurate for me). it would be really cool if someone could measure the vertical height of the pre-installed version of Swype (not including the word correction bar) just to satisfy my curiosity...
 
Last edited:

liftedplane

Gold Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
2,303
Reaction score
793
Location
Washington State
Thanks! but i don't deserve the credit, the instructions were originally posted on Swype's forums in this thread: Tutorial: Installing Beta Swype on Droid X. i successfully installed Beta 3.25 on my Bionic using these instructions, i did have a few force closes immediately after, but it has been working perfectly since. for the Swype haters out there, i stopped using Swype a long time ago because i hated the word correction popup box in the earlier builds. in the new builds (including 3.21 pre-installed in the Bionic), Swype uses the word correction bar introduced in Gingerbread (i think), works fantastic now. one thing i did notice is that the Beta 3.25 keyboard appears to be a little shorter in portrait mode than the pre-installed version. it is 1.25 inches from the bottom of the space bar to the top of the letter Y in first row (i.e., vertical extent in portrait mode not including word correction bar). this means the keys are a bit harder to accurately hit when not swyping (swyping is still amazingly accurate for me). it would be really cool if someone could measure the vertical height of the pre-installed version of Swype (not including the word correction bar) just to satisfy my curiosity...

got it installed on my phone... not my wife's so I'll go check on that and see what the differences are... maybe I can get a video up for you...
 

PhilD

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
114
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
here you go, a quick video side by side [video=youtube;v9ZVLHNrowM]http://youtu.be/v9ZVLHNrowM[/video]

dude, that video is awesome, thanks a lot for that, i appreciate it!

i can see that the pre-installed version is definitely a little taller in portrait mode (even though beta 3.25 supports qHD resolution), but the difference isn't huge. i think i'm going to stick with the beta for now.
 

gwbennett

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
To use the beta you have too root your phone and delete the Swype files. There are 3. They are posted on bionic forums. I can't remember offhand the paths in question.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
 

lanza_david

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
0
Does Swype inc update the stock installed version once the stable version is released?
 

PhilD

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
114
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
Does Swype inc update the stock installed version once the stable version is released?
any updates to the stock pre-installed version is managed by moto + verizon, not swype, and i did not receive any updates to the keyboard outside of the full OS updates (i.e., Froyo to Gingerbread) on my Droid X.
 
Top