Serious question

Kendraso

Reaction score
Should i bother rooting my rezound? i had my old DINC rooted, and used the hell out of it when it was rooted, mainly cause of the wireless tether being free for me because of it being rooted. i got my rezound back in february for $100 on upgrade cause of an end of february sale. been loving the phone, especially the audio and speed, but i havent felt a need to root it like i did with my dinc....been playing around with the idea of doing it, specially since i have two upgrades available on my account incase this one screws up and i cant do warranty on it. with my dinc i didnt really use any of the roms tbh..or any of the kernals, just the wireless tether here and there for torrenting with my laptop and playing my ps3 online. and being i work as an indirect sales rep for verizon, ive actually activated countless Iphone 4's and 4S's with the dinc funnily enough, but have yet like i said the need to root the rezound. anyone able to make a compelling arguement for me to root my rezound?? also, had the infinite bootloop issue start last week, thankfully i knew about this site, otherwise i woulda had to do a warranty replacement..

MrSmith317

Premium Member
Reaction score
Nope, nothing more compelling than you already know. Sounds like you know the risks and rewards.

Stelv

Silver Member
Reaction score
Devices are pretty good these days unrooted. Stock runs well, and there are many things one can do via apps in market instead of root.

That being said I am rooted because...
-custom roms: debloated, slightly better battery, slightly better performance, customized look, mods like volume wake
-wifi tether
-trying new versions of android before they come out

But sometimes it can be a hassle and risky with all the work that needs to be done to achieve this stuff. I like all the aspects that comes with rooting especially custom roms, but it's not really necessary with a device that performs as well as the rezound does stock.