"SD Card Unexpectedly Removed"

novakom

Reaction score
Hi all,
I've had my DInc since launch and it's always worked great. I'm not a novice but I'm not a power user either. I recently got a SD Card (16 GB) so that I could use the NitroDesk Touchdown app (allows for MS Exchange use)-the reason is that the email certs that I need to connect to my work email have to be placed on the SD Card so that Touchdown sees them (for whatever reason). Once I got this set up, everything was working great, until about a week ago, when as I was getting on a plane, all of a sudden I got an alert (normal alert, on the alert bar at the top of the display) that the "SD Card was unexpectedly removed". I tried to verify this through using the Astro file manager app, and that ended up freaking out the phone-it eventually hung so bad that I had to pull the battery to reset. However, once I powered it on again, everything started working again, so I figured it was just a random crash.

Today however, I got the same alert. This time I was able to power it down, pop out & re-seat the SD Card, and restart, once again resulting in everything being ok again. My main concern is, though, is this an issue with my phone, or an issue with the SD Card? If nobody else has seen this problem then it's probably just a bad SD Card and I'll get a new one; however if it's a phone issue it's definitely a major concern.

So my question is, has anyone else had this problem (seen the "SD Card Unexpectedly Removed" alert)?

Many thanks.

ezrider55

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
LG V30
Alert

Have not seen or herd of this problem. Did you format SD card right after install ?

OP
N

novakom

Reaction score
I did not. I take it that is standard practice? I'll give it a shot.

jeffrdl

Reaction score
I have had this exact issue as well. I used my phone vigorously over the last 30 days to evaluate if I was going to keep the DInc and had no problems, other than the occasional restart.