SBF fails on "Error switching phone to BP pass through mode (0x70BE)"

caesar1018

Reaction score
This is my first time posting on this site, so if this is the wrong area to post this issue please let me know.

I have a Droid X MB810 that is stuck in Bootloader mode as shown:

Booloader

Battery OK
OK to program
Connect USB
Data Cable

I do not know what version was on this phone prior to it becoming a brick
(I believe it was 4.5.621 OTA because the phone was recently activated 3 months ago)

I have loaded ALL sbf files in order from oldest to newest. Starting with 1KDS's files
2.3.340 full, 4.5.596, 4.5.602, 4.5.605 and finally the last one 4.5.621. I realize this last one is the point of no return
and I can no longer use the others (previous ones didn't work anyhow and gave error messages above "Battery OK" on the phones screen)

I am running Win 7 64-bit Ultimate w/ rdslite 4.8 and current drivers ( I assume the drivers are current as I have another fully functional Droid X that is being recognized fine by PC via the Motorola USB cable) Battery is a 100%.

Questions about the drivers????
Visually I see the following differences when hooking up both phones via USB:

The working phone when plugged in via USB shows the following info in the "driver software installation" window:
USB Mass Storage Device Ready to use
Motorola MB810 USB Device Ready to use

When I plug in the bricked Droid X it shows the following on the PHONES screen:
The last 2 lines of text change? Is this an issue?

Bootloader

Battery OK
OK to Program
Transfer mode:
USB

Also, when I connect it to the PC via the Motorola USB cable I get the "driver software installation" window but it says the following:
Motorola Flash Interface Ready to use

(I don't see any other info listed as with the fully functional phone)

I have even "wiped data/factory reset" and "system reboot" the phone each time after every sbf above with no luck either.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
JT