Razr won't factory reset

smalltowngirl13

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
7,044
Reaction score
912
Location
Kansas
Current Phone Model
Z Force 2
Twitter
smalltownlife13
Very odd - have you called into tech support for troubleshoot...it sounds like you may need to request a replacement device if they can't resolve your issue or find a way to factory reset.
 

fuzzybmx

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
help

I was wondering what the outcome of this was. My wife's phone had the same issues as the one who started this post. any help would be great! thank you!!
 

TisMyDroid

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
7,441
Reaction score
3,193
Location
Central New York
Current Phone Model
Samsung Note 3
Be sure your phone is set to debugging mode (settings---> Developer options ---> USB debugging checked.

And when on the screen with the dead Android guy, hold volume up and volume down at same time and it will boot to the next menu. On this menu, use volume + and - to navigate through this menu and power to select.
 

fuzzybmx

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I download the razr utility 1.8 and tried to put ics on the phone twice with no luck. And I doubled checked to make sure usb debugging was enabled. I took it into Verizon and they didn't have much luck. Is there anyway to open it up and reset something inside the phone?
 

TisMyDroid

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
7,441
Reaction score
3,193
Location
Central New York
Current Phone Model
Samsung Note 3
No do not do that! The other thing to do is to make sure you have the latest moto drivers installed.... after unzipping the utility, they are in the folder labeled Drivers (Required).
 

fuzzybmx

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Thank you for the reply! Once I get back home I will uninstall the ones I installed and will try the ones that came with the utility. I will keep you guys posted.
 

fuzzybmx

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Could there also be a way that the system removed any kind of read/write rights?
 

fuzzybmx

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
So I made sure I had the correct drivers and it still didn't change anything. I posted a picture of what happens when I try to flash a stock ics to it. I received a replacement phone yesterday, but we have stuff on the phone that I can't wipe. Any ideas on what I can do?
 

TisMyDroid

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
7,441
Reaction score
3,193
Location
Central New York
Current Phone Model
Samsung Note 3
That error seems to be showing its ugly head lately. Let's start from the beginning. What version of Android are you coming from? Was the phone stock or rooted? Which instructions/utility did you use.

Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
 
Top