Problem Flashing SPRecovery

emueller2001

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Howell, NJ
I am rooting my new Droid (the last one that I had rooted was stolen) and I am trying to flash SPRecovery using RSD Lite. The process went fine and RSD now says to manually power up the phone. The phone rebooted but got stuck on the Motorola logo. It's been stuck there for ten minutes or so. Do I have a problem? Is there anything I can do to unfreeze the boot up? Thanks!

--Erik
 

deaf leppy

Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
137
Reaction score
0
I'd wait for another 20 minutes or so, if you have the time.. If not, sounds like you'll have to do a battery pull and either try another boot, or re flash..
That's just what I'd do, not saying that's what you have to do..
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,489
Reaction score
6,865
Was your battery strong (I recommend 60%) at least 50% before you flashed
 
OP
E

emueller2001

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Howell, NJ
Pilot, I just found another thread where you helped someone with the same problem. My battery was kind of low, def lower than 50%. I'm going to plug it into the wall to charge for a while. Can I unplug from the computer without messing anything up at this point?

--Erik
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,489
Reaction score
6,865
yes go ahead battery life is more important right now
 
OP
E

emueller2001

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Howell, NJ
Great, thanks. When it's done charging should it be ok or am I going to need to reflash SPRecovery? RSDLite said everything was fine, it just didn't reboot properly. There were no failures or anything like that. That would make me think that the software was installed ok...
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,489
Reaction score
6,865
let it get a good 1hr charge in the wall charger, It should boot up fine. If it dont then just redo the rsdlite sprecovey.
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,489
Reaction score
6,865
alright ill keep my eye out
 
OP
E

emueller2001

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Howell, NJ
Ok...next morning. Phone charged all night and the Moto logo was still up. I pulled the battery and it hung on the logo again. I pulled the battery again and I was able to enter the bootloader without a problem. I tried reflashing SPRecovery and I got the same result: no errors on the flashing but it hangs on the Moto logo.

My plan now is to re-download SPRecovery.sbf and try to flash again with that new version. I was using a .sbf file from a few months ago when I rooted my old phone. Maybe there is a newer version or maybe the old file is corrupted somehow...

Thanks!

--Erik
 
OP
E

emueller2001

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Howell, NJ
Reflashed back to the 2.0.1 .sbf and it all looks good at this point. Phone is now running 100% on 2.0.1. Battery shows fully charged.

I am going to download a new SPRecovery file just in case that old one is corrupted or something.

The secret so far is not to panic. I knew that as long as I had access to bootloader I wasn't bricked. Now that the phone is fully charged, I'm going to try again with SPRecovery.

--Erik
 

Tallica

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
3,259
Reaction score
1
Location
Middleboro, MA
Reflashed back to the 2.0.1 .sbf and it all looks good at this point. Phone is now running 100% on 2.0.1. Battery shows fully charged.

I am going to download a new SPRecovery file just in case that old one is corrupted or something.

The secret so far is not to panic. I knew that as long as I had access to bootloader I wasn't bricked. Now that the phone is fully charged, I'm going to try again with SPRecovery.

--Erik

Good work, and you're right staying calm is key. Let us know how the SPR flash goes.
 
OP
E

emueller2001

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Howell, NJ
I think I found my problem. I downgraded from Android 2.1 to 2.0.1. That worked fine. I then tried to flash SPRecovery for 2.1. I believe I should have not downgraded to 2.0.1, rather just flash SPR from 2.1 directly.

So, I'm going to reflash to 2.1 and then install SPRecovery.

Update to follow!

--Erik
 
OP
E

emueller2001

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Howell, NJ
Success! Looks like the problem was trying to install 2.1 SPRecovery over Android 2.0.1. Duh.

So, here is what I did to fix it. I flashed 2.1 using RSDLite. Verified that that installation was good. I downloaded SPR 2.1 to make sure I had the most current version and then flashed that using RSDLite.

Now, life is good. Thanks everyone for the support!

--Erik
 
Top