Pre-loaded apps

bake3020

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Is there any way to get rid of pre-loaded apps that you don't want. Like
say Facebook, Twitter, and a few others? I currently have them silenced
but would like to get them off the Droid.:hail:
 

dezymond

Tech Support Mod
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
12,061
Reaction score
1,506
Location
Bay Area, California
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
You can root and take them off by renaming the file. If you ever want them back just change the name again. That's what I did for what we like to call "bloatware"
 

REMilk

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
751
Reaction score
7
Location
On a Cribbage board
If you root, do not delete them. I deleted them and now I cannot apply the updates as components are missing.

If you rename them, then you can name them to the correct name and apply the updates.
 

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
11,105
Reaction score
27
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
If you root, do not delete them. I deleted them and now I cannot apply the updates as components are missing.

If you rename them, then you can name them to the correct name and apply the updates.

You can .sbf back to OOTB New and updates will apply.
 
OP
bake3020

bake3020

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Pre loaded apps

Let me make one thing very clear, here. I am not that tech savy and can
screw-up real fast. I did not know that it was that intensive to get rid of
apps, for this phone. I will eventually come around and learn a few things
to play with and maybe make it work out. I appreciate all who chimed in,
on this topic. I guess i'll wait for my warranty to expire, next year before
I really attempt to do something that deep.
Thanks, I appreciate it.:motdroidvert:
 

jbdow

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
The more you read these forums, you may come to the conclusion that those
bloatware items are not really in your way:)
 

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
4,947
Reaction score
17
Location
Baton Rouge, LA
I think, if you use Launcher, it will let you "hide" those apps. They will, of course, still be on your phone, but they will not appear in your app drawer.
 
OP
bake3020

bake3020

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Pre loaded apps

They may not be in the way, so to speak but they surely are a big ole
pain in the backside. Now I am trying to find out what utility is using
my monthly alloted MBs. Just today alone, something used 3MBS and
I do not know what it was. Kinda funny, I think. Is there a way to
boot this thing back to OOTB? and start over again or should I just
try to find out what is going on?
Input please.
 

jbdow

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Could be any number of things- gps update, weather update, update update,
and anything else you may not have noticed. these phones talk even when youre not.
removing those bothersome apps may or may not help you...
 

jbdow

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Oh, I forgot. If you boot back to OOTB it's my understanding ALL those apps will reappear:icon_eek:
 
Top