Newbie...Please help me sync with PC?

dreemesicle

Reaction score
Does the Droid come w/software to sync w/my PC?
Okay, I'm VERY new to the Smartphones and have no clue how anything works (My Droid comes tomorrow)
icon_%20banana.gif
With that being said, I'm confused as to how the sync works...I have a Palm TX and the Palm Desktop software came with it to install on my computer. That way, I can enter info on my computer and just Hot Sync to my Palm (easier than entering on the tiny Palm screen). Does the Droid come with software so I can do this? And if so, how to I find it?
Thanks so much! Have a terrific evening!

summerfieldjason

Reaction score
I was a palm user before. Droid works off the google network. The easiest way I found was to set up a free gmail account. Make sure you set up a google Calendar also. You will then need to download a software called companionlink. It costs money but it is really the only way to get all your contacts to your gmail account. The droid automatically syncs with your google account. Gmail calendar does have a free sync program that you can install on your pc but it doesn't sync contacts as well.

rosedith

Reaction score
If you don't have a ton of contacts, you can enter them in your Gmail account and they will sync back to the phone. I put pix of my contacts in Gmail and they now show up in the contacts list on my phone. Once you enter your Gmail info when you set up the phone, you never have to worry about syncing. Whatever you add to Gmail or Google Calendar online will show up automagically on your phone. It also works the other way so if you add something or someone to the phone, it will show up online.

J

JohnDroid

You should be able to export your contacts from Palm via a CSV or similar, then import them into your Google Contacts.

Do you have a Google account (ie, gmail.com email address) set up yet?

OP
D

dreemesicle

Reaction score