newbe Bionic update

tawneyp99

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm new to the whole smart phone thing and was trying to do the update to the new 5.5.893 our what ever the new operating system is and when I click on the system update on my phoney it says there are no updates available. So how do you update these phones? Thanks in advance. Also how hard is it root a phone?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums

CurGeorge8

Reaction score
Lol, you have violated soo many internet rules here. Most importantly, you didn't search the recent posts for an answer to your question.

markc23

Reaction score
Welcome. The new update isn't available for general consumption yet, only soak testers and maybe some general public. Official roll out should be soon. I haven't rooted mine yet as I want to stay on the official upgrade path with few hassles. I had rooted my OG Droid. I think typically it's easy but you would need to read more to verify root procedures and ease or difficulty levels for the Bionic.

Ok, so I'm new to the whole smart phone thing and was trying to do the update to the new 5.5.893 our what ever the new operating system is and when I click on the system update on my phoney it says there are no updates available. So how do you update these phones? Thanks in advance. Also how hard is it root a phone?

powerwagon

Reaction score
Must be rooted to get the leaked update. There is no official update as of yet. As far as how to root...search this forum, there is plenty of information on how to do that.

OP
T

tawneyp99

Reaction score
Thanks for all the answers, I'm not the best at forums so sorry for any rule breaking

aaf709

Nice Guy
Premium Member
Reaction score
So how do you update these phones? Thanks in advance.

As for the official OTA (Over The Air) update, it'll be two ways: