New LTE off Switch For Thunderbolt

WenWM

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
642
Reaction score
4
Location
Minnesota
Website
twitter.com
lteoff.jpg

Every Thunderbolt owner knows how incredibly fast the battery on the new device dies when on an LTE connection, and with no easy way to turn off this feature, a new developer just released an app for it. The good guys over at TeamAndIRC just pushed out an application that gives you a simple way to toggle your LTE on an off when you need it. This isn’t a super sexy application, just made to get the job done, and get it done quickly.

Source: LTE onOFF brings an easy way to turn off 4G on your Thunderbolt | Android Central
 

lockman

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
789
Reaction score
0
Location
Baltimore, MD
<3

Now my battery will last for more than 14 hours.

14 hours? What do you do? Leave it in your pocket?:) I'm lucky to get 8-9 hours without a charge. But I do think I use my phone fairly heavily.

On topic, this is great news. Gonna try it out now.
 

edbdroid

Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Location
Alabama
Idle question... Does a tbolt try to connect LTE in a 3G-only area? If I get one before LTE is turned up in my area, do I need to be concerned about this?
 

king_43

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
44
Reaction score
0
when I do this will I still be able to use data and talk at the same time? I am not in a 4g area but noticed when messing with them in the past it would not let me access data when on the phone
 

edbdroid

Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Location
Alabama
Voice and data will not work simultaneously on VZW's 3G network, regardless of the device you have.
 

Snow02

Active Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
1,339
Reaction score
9
when I do this will I still be able to use data and talk at the same time? I am not in a 4g area but noticed when messing with them in the past it would not let me access data when on the phone

Yes. And you can always, you know, try it.
 

dafischman

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Voice and data will not work simultaneously on VZW's 3G network, regardless of the device you have.

Please do more research before making comments. The TB does have the ability to do voice and data on VZW's 3G network simultaneously. This has been confirmed by many, many people.

Josh
 

MadScientist

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
94
Reaction score
0
Location
Jackson MS
Voice and data will not work simultaneously on VZW's 3G network, regardless of the device you have.

Please do more research before making comments. The TB does have the ability to do voice and data on VZW's 3G network simultaneously. This has been confirmed by many, many people.

Josh

I can vouch for this. We even have voice and data after the network switch following issues with eHRPD connections. I've never been on LTE and have voice and data all the time. How do u think I get through the calls with my wife ;-)

Sent from my Thunderbolt
 

Martin030908

Super Moderator
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
8,694
Reaction score
0
Just curious...

Does it bother anyone that you have to disable 4G, the big 'feature' of the TB, in order to get acceptable battery life?

I'm not trying to stir the pot, I just find this absurd that you folks have to do this to prolong battery life.
 

edbdroid

Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Location
Alabama
Voice and data will not work simultaneously on VZW's 3G network, regardless of the device you have.

Please do more research before making comments. The TB does have the ability to do voice and data on VZW's 3G network simultaneously. This has been confirmed by many, many people.

Josh

Oh, I'm sorry, Josh. Everything I've read.about the CDMA network has stated that voice and data won't work at the same time. I didn't mean to offend. Guess that is all the more reason to want a tbolt!

You might wanna loosen those a bit... They seem to have bunched up on ya...
 

Beardface

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
687
Reaction score
97
Location
Raleigh, NC
Just curious...

Does it bother anyone that you have to disable 4G, the big 'feature' of the TB, in order to get acceptable battery life?

I'm not trying to stir the pot, I just find this absurd that you folks have to do this to prolong battery life.
Was thinking the same

Are the speeds of LTE (and the new over-priced tiered data plans) even worth it if it creates such a battery drain that you have to disable it to get it through the work-day, let alone the actual day?

I mean, its great that its fast and all, but if it can only hold a 8 hour charge with minimal use, it seems like that 'feature' is more of a bug than a benefit.
 
Top