Multi tasking question

rkl122

Reaction score
I'm new to the DX and to Android, and either I'm missing something fundamental or the multitasking aspect is not as robust as I'd expected. Today, I was replying to an email, and realized I wanted to get a phone number into the reply text. I didn't have the number handy, except in Contacts. So I backed out of the reply to go into Contacts and select the number - ie. put it on the clipboard. But when I touched the email icon again, the reply I'd been working on was gone.

I've since found how you can long press the (hard) home key and switch between recent apps, and there's an icon called "message" which brings you back to the last open email. But if you'd been working on a reply before you left it, that reply is gone!

How do you switch between apps so that each is in the precise state you left it? Not possible?

The DX is stock - unrooted - with latest update.

Thx

Trong

Reaction score
Press 'Home', not 'Back'. Although it's frowned upon by Google, many people still program the back button to exit an app if you keep pressing back until you hit the home screens.

struong57

Reaction score
Did you check your Draft folder in your email? Perhaps that's where the email you were composing went. Most Android apps will automatically save whatever you had on the screen for you when you jump to another application before saving your work.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App

timrock

Reaction score
Holding the hard home key on my phone brings up my recent apps

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Reaction score
+1! Just a short press vs long press. Works every time for me.

Press 'Home', not 'Back'. Although it's frowned upon by Google, many people still program the back button to exit an app if you keep pressing back until you hit the home screens.

DroidForums junkie!!

OP
R

rkl122

Reaction score