Moto X Has Slow Response Accessing Voice Mail on VZW

bill77056

Reaction score
Moto X on VZW

I’m new to Moto X and find it quite fine. Photos are improved over HTC INC2. Battery is truly awesome!

One issue that I have not resolved is the slow Voice Mail (free) response. With the HTC phone, after clicking the VM icon, the dial tone and sign-in would start in 2-sec max. With the Moto X two clicks needed. The first click on VM icon requires 5-sec bring up the sign-in screen; second click will give the dial tone and start the auto sign-in. (NOTE: the *86,,xxxx#,,...used to sign-in).

Is there a way to access voice mail with one click and save 5-sec? If not, who is responsible for the adding the extra step and time – Google or VZW?

TIA…Bill

94lt1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2
Hello, welcome to DF...sounds like a slow network connection to me...are you launching from the voicemail app or button? It appears you're dialing *86. Try the voicemail button...I believe the motox has it...our resident motox expert will have to weigh in here..I'm sure she'll be around soon..

MAXXED OUT!!!

OP
B

bill77056

Reaction score
Hi 94 and thanks.

I'm ignorant...do not know difference btn voicemail app and button. The app list shows a voicemail icon; this has been pasted to the home page. The slowness is when this vm icon is clicked. I will search for the voicemail button.

A workaround is a long press on #1 on the dialer gives a quick VM response. No 5-sec delay. Issue with this method is that the dialer is difficult to find, for me anyway.

And yes, the *86,,xxxx#,,1 string is used to contact the VM.

94lt1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2