just bought micro_sd64gb

roach

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
265
Reaction score
2
Location
So. Florida
Before I put this card in my phone should I transfer my files over using my reader,or put card in phone then move files over.
Thank's
 

bkdodger

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
13,052
Reaction score
9,331
Location
Staten Island, New York
Current Phone Model
Note 10+
I recently used a 32GB card.. I took all the pics from Nexus to computer.. Then dragged them into a folder onto sd card... Should be no problem...

°BK's pure G-Nex°
 

94lt1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
17,048
Reaction score
4,014
Location
SE TX
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2
Like bkdodger said, you can do it that way or you can copy all of your pics into a single file on your devices hard drive, all of your other files into a single folder on the phone as well... remove the old SD, Insert the new sd, format the new SD car inside the device..

IMHO you should always format the SD in its intended device... then just transfer all of the files over to the micro sdcard...

You might want to use a file explorer, but I prefer to use my files... its all personal preference :)
 

kodiak799

Gold Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
6,148
Reaction score
828
The transfer will probably be a fair bit faster in your computer SD slot. But as mentioned, you should format in the phone, first.
 
OP
roach

roach

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
265
Reaction score
2
Location
So. Florida
I used all of my sd cards 16,4,and 32 and they all work with my phone,I think I got bad information when guys were saying 64gb worked unless I bought the wrong card.
I bought a 64gb micro SDXC HD CLASS10 should this work in my RAZRMAXX HD

 

06M6TorridGTO

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
The RAZR MAXX HD is advertised as supporting up to 32 GB microSDHC. I would not buy a 64 GB card thinking it would work unless you can return it or have other uses for it. I am going to get one for my GoPro anyway so I will try it then. Some I guess have said that it worked but I'm not sure as I havent tried it.
 
OP
roach

roach

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
265
Reaction score
2
Location
So. Florida
The RAZR MAXX HD is advertised as supporting up to 32 GB microSDHC. I would not buy a 64 GB card thinking it would work unless you can return it or have other uses for it. I am going to get one for my GoPro anyway so I will try it then. Some I guess have said that it worked but I'm not sure as I havent tried it.
I transfered the files to the sd card on my computer first then put the card in my phone,to be honest I don't no why I got a 64gb micro_sdcard a 32 would of been fine.I got a good deal on it at the time and that had something to do with it.As I begun to try and move files over using the App to SD program I noticed it did not work,I tried a few others and they failed also,so if there is a program out there let me no.Thanks
 

Raw Dodge

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
269
Reaction score
3
I used my sandisk 64gb card in my razr with no problems,the same card is in my S3 now, without issues. Like was mentioned put the new card in the phone it will be used in, format it in the phone , then transfer copied files to it from your computer.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
 

Veritas99

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I just installed a 64gb class 10 card without any problems. I had to format it via the Maxx HD, not my computer. When I used double twist to transfer my music over, everything worked fine.
 
OP
roach

roach

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
265
Reaction score
2
Location
So. Florida
I just installed a 64gb class 10 card without any problems. I had to format it via the Maxx HD, not my computer. When I used double twist to transfer my music over, everything worked fine.
thank you for that help,i think i figured it out now everything works perfect now all i have to do is figure out how to use all 77 gigabytes that i have left.32 would have been enough.
THANK'S
 

06M6TorridGTO

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
I used my sandisk 64gb card in my razr with no problems,the same card is in my S3 now, without issues. Like was mentioned put the new card in the phone it will be used in, format it in the phone , then transfer copied files to it from your computer.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

I just installed a 64gb class 10 card without any problems. I had to format it via the Maxx HD, not my computer. When I used double twist to transfer my music over, everything worked fine.

great to know!! I cant wait to get my 64 gb card so I can try it out. That was my biggest concern buying this phone over the S3 so it it works, I will be more than happy that I got this phone instead.
 
Top