Is the Market Droid specific?

aaf709

Nice Guy
Premium Member
Reaction score
For a while I've been interested in the game Bonsai Blast. It shows up on both Androlib.com and AndroidZoom.com (with comments close to today's date), but if you try to find it on the Market (even using the QR Codes) it doesn't exist.

Doing a quick search on another forum, it said that the developers can't get to work on the Droid. Some of the posters said they can't find it on the Market while others insist that they just saw it.

I'm wondering if when I find something in the Market, it's supposed to work on the Droid, but if it definitely won't I can't find it. Does that make sense?

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
The Market is for Android, not necessarily Droid specific. That's why you need to read the comments, usually if it doesn't work on Droid someone will say so.

Sweet Daddy

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I will venture to say that yes "most" things in the market will work on the Droid. The only obstacle that I could see would be that if a particular app isn't optimized for Android 2.0 or above, or maybe said app was developed to work with a trackball. Don't quote me though, this is just a guess. :blink:

nite 0wl

Reaction score
The Market is supposedly limited to apps the developer lists as compatible with your OS version and (even more supposedly) certain major hardware specs (like screen type/resolution).

Many apps meet these limited requirements (ie 2.0+ compatibility and not definitely incapable of running on the DROID's screen resolution) but will still not run properly on the DROID. Sometimes this is because the developer incorrectly lists version or resolution compatibility and sometimes because the issue that causes it to not run properly on the DROID is outside of those limited parameters.

KZIWarrior

Silver Member
Reaction score