I killed my Droid X....didn't I?

Waterdude

Reaction score
Pardon the newbie here...I've seen lots of posts on this but I am still lost. Here's my problem:
Droid X...18 months old...crashed last night and then would only boot to the M (red for Gingerbread)
Cannot Factory reset (no button combos work)
Did get to bootloader, and then sbfed using .621
Would not boot past M, still can not reset
DUMB PART - tried to sbf with older version...could not boot, back to bootloader, new error, then SBFed with .621 again
Back to square 1...or I should say red M

I am thinking paperweight at this point...out of warranty, too expensive to repair, too expensive to replace, so desperate for any help
Do not know how to use Linux...never rooted a phone and don't know why I would...

Any help at all?

Thanks!

The drowning Waterdude::blink:

newmanx4

Reaction score
Usually after an SBF you need to factory reset to get the phone to boot. Pull the battery, replace, then from off hold Home + Power. That should get you to stock recovery where you can perform the reset.

By the way, once you've been on .621 you cannot SBF to any previous versions.

Sent from my AOKP'd DROID X

Last edited:
OP
W

Waterdude

Reaction score
Usually after an SBF you need to factory reset to get the phone to boot. Pull the battery, replace, then from off hold Home + Power. That should get you to stock recovery where you can perform the reset.

By the way, once you've been on .621 you cannot SBF to any previous versions.

Thanks for the advice...but...as I mentioned, I could not/cannot get to factory reset, only bootloader, and I did the bad and tried to SBF to a prior version with the SBF with .621 did not work.

I still have a brick. Any other way out of this?

Thanks!

Waterdude

justin82

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
if you cant boot into recovery i would say its dead in water ..are the physical buttons broke on phone or just non responsive?

newmanx4

Reaction score