How to maintain root through any upgrade (Motorola Devices Only) from P3Droid

gmorgan056

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
449
Reaction score
1
Location
Seattle, WA
This is strictly from P3Droid, i'm just passing on the information:

How to maintain root through any upgrade (Motorola Devices Only)
Doing the following will allow your device to maintain root through any upgrade (unless motorola changes things)

I use root explorer, but you can also use adb pull and push.


RootExplorer Method

go to /system/bin/
open in text editor - mount_ext3.sh
add the following lines to the very bottom

chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
chmod 4755 /system/app/Superuser.apk


ADB method

adb pull /system/bin/mount_ext3.sh
open the file in your favorite text editor
add the following lines to the very bottom

chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
chmod 4755 /system/app/Superuser.apk​
Save file

adb push mount_ext3.sh /data/local
adb shell
mount -o rw,remount /dev/null /system
cat /data/local/mount_ext3.sh > /system/bin/mount_ext3.sh
chmod 777 /system/bin/mount_ext3.sh

Done!!!



This method was proposed by Djrbliss, and only slightly altered by me...please thank @DjrBliss on Twitter.

Here's the source link:

How to maintain root through any upgrade (Motorola Devices Only)

Thanks P3Droid!​
 

NoahNoise

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Denver, CO
Does this allow for the update to be integrated, or does this just make the update "pass by" your Droid? It seems like there are some things in the Nov update that might be valuable, even to rooted users...
 

brandon9559

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
217
Reaction score
0
Does this allow for the update to be integrated, or does this just make the update "pass by" your Droid? It seems like there are some things in the Nov update that might be valuable, even to rooted users...

It is my understanding that doing this method allows you to take an OTA update and retain root
 
OP
gmorgan056

gmorgan056

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
449
Reaction score
1
Location
Seattle, WA
It is my understanding that doing this method allows you to take an OTA update and retain root
Agreed. Here's P3Droid's exact tweet:


lR8x7fyO_normal

P3Droid P3Droid



Important: Rd this now! Romers/Themers especially..How to maintian root through a Motorola update every time





This makes me believe that this is for the OTA updates.
 

Zane_Grey

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Agreed. Here's P3Droid's exact tweet:


lR8x7fyO_normal

P3Droid P3Droid



Important: Rd this now! Romers/Themers especially..How to maintian root through a Motorola update every time





This makes me believe that this is for the OTA updates.

It says that you need to be stock for the OTA. As in bloated and everything. This will just hopefully maintain root after the OTA.
 

NoahNoise

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Denver, CO
Lucky me so far, then. I haven't flashed to a ROM yet, and I've gone the simple route and frozen (rather than uninstalled) much of the bloat.

So would it be best to unfreeze apps in anticipation of the OTA? I followed one of the more sparse lists found here, and I didn't freeze the FOTA as some recommend. I HAVE frozen the various VZW Apps (Music, Video, Social).

Maybe I should just unfreeze everything once the update time draws near, just to keep it simple?
 

jayman350

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
843
Reaction score
18
Location
Lowell, Ma
sounds great, only problem for me is that I got sick of frozen apps reattaching themselves to the market and auto-updating, so I uninstalled them.

I do have a bone stock backup that I can restore and change the file on that one, then when the ota comes I can restore that backup and apply the update.

do we know if this can be deodexed, or does it need to have the odex stuff there?
 

tbell6

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
79
Reaction score
0
Need help, I can make the changes but can not save them. Obviously I'm missing something. Are there "assumed" steps that I missed?


OK, found it.
LOL, forgot to Mount R/W.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
 
Last edited:

wooddale

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
1,771
Reaction score
11
Location
Il & Wi
Should we do this now or wait unyil update gets closer? Does it hoof snything else up?
 

tgyberg

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
3,961
Reaction score
319
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Current Phone Model
Pixel 2XL & Pixel C
I dont have one thing wrong so I dont think I want any update. On the Tbolt those updates just kept making things worse!
 

Cinoib

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2011
Messages
138
Reaction score
0
I dont have one thing wrong so I dont think I want any update. On the Tbolt those updates just kept making things worse!

I'm rooted & SqLited. The only part of an ota I want is the fix that lets me watch nfl games on the big screen. I do privately wonder though if the ota would allow me to do that. I believe that jam is intentional. So I don't know if I want the ota.

I've had a few problems with the Bionic but overall I am most happy as long as I can stay rooted & hacked.

Titanium Backup has worked for freezing and thawing apps. I guess what I'm saying here is that if it's not broke I won't fix it with an ota. That said if the ota gives me espn's Monday Night game, I might unroot, take the ota, and try to reroot.

But even then, given Moto's ota history with other ota's, I just don't think I'll take the ota.


Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
 

wooddale

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
1,771
Reaction score
11
Location
Il & Wi
The OTA"s on the Thunderbolt were mostly from the Devs they werent offical. There still isnt a offical ota for gingerbread. The biggest ptoblembwas with the radios which didntbaffec tobdo with radiost allphones I till dont have a problem. The Bioni on the other hand has a definet problem which I think also has to do with radios or 4G. Either way not havinga data connection is a problek which needd to be adressed.
 

droidxjay

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2010
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I can confirm this is working fine, as I just used it to upgrade to 5.5.893

a6f84759-c7c5-b96b.jpg
a6f84759-c7de-3d25.jpg
a6f84759-c7eb-0d92.jpg
a6f84759-c800-a8ee.jpg


Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
 
Top