How is the nexus better than the razr just cause it has ics 2 months early, Confused?

mdsniper7

Reaction score
So I have a og droid looking to get the razr or nexus, I love the razrs build, but all I hear is nexus this etc. How is the nexus better what are its benifets. Besides ics early. What is the big deal with a google phone. I am new to this would like to know. TY

nbucko

Reaction score
Basically the nexus will not have any manufacturer software on top of the os like all the other phones do. Some people like the added software while others feel that its too buggy and slows the phone down. With the razr you should be able to root it and install a rom that will get rid of this added software but its extra steps that could potentially brick your phone rendering it unusable.

Ics was built around the nexus and should work extremely well with the hardware as well as nexus devices are basically designed to be rooted and romed and therefore should have less risk of bricking the phone.

Sent from my DROID using DroidForums

fobpartisan

Reaction score
Web browser is really sticky n laggy on razr. Seems like the processor can't Handel a heavy page. Screen is better on the nexus.

dezymond

Tech Support Mod
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
"Better" is subjective.

The main differences are that the Nexus will have vanilla Android, leaving it untouched by any manufacturer UI. The screen will also be 4.65" and I'm not sure if it's an exclusive, but the Nexus has NFC. Also because the Nexus is a pure Google device, it's most likely going to receive updates first and for the longest period of time.

And just how the Razr is the thinnest smartphone on the market, the Nexus will be the first device with ICS and most likely the only device with vanilla ICS.

tjk629

Silver Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
NEXUS 6