How can I create a shortcut for a PDF document on one of my home screens - Droid RAZR

CoachJohn

Reaction score
Greetings,

I am new to the Droid RAZR and new to the forum, so I apologize up front for asking what I'm sure is going to be a routine question for most of you.

I downloaded a couple of files from my computer to my phone, but I would like to create shortcuts to each of them on one of my home screens.

I have scoured the internet and these forums and have seen several different people post how to use Astro File Manager, which is what I have for an application. Their advice says to either > Menu > Add or long-press on the home screen, both of which bring up "Add to Home", then click on Shortcuts > Astro, then find the file, etc. But, when I click on Astro, it just immediately places a shortcut to Astro on the Home Screen, which is not what I want to do....

If I go into Astro, I can find the specific files I am looking for, but I can't figure out how to get them to my home screen. If I long press on them, the only options that pop up are Copy, Move, Rename, Delete....plus Details, Open As, and Send.

So, can anyone please help me. Each of the files is a textbook that I copied from a disc to my PC, then copied to my phone, and all I want to do is create a shortcut icon to each of them separately without having to open a file manager and navigate the different folders in there to locate and open them....

Thanks,

John

FoxKat

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
Greetings,

I am new to the Droid RAZR and new to the forum, so I apologize up front for asking what I'm sure is going to be a routine question for most of you.

I downloaded a couple of files from my computer to my phone, but I would like to create shortcuts to each of them on one of my home screens.