Help updating rooted Froyo 2.2.1 to latest Gingerbread

JpAll4Christ

Reaction score
Ok, I am a little new to this so if I am approaching this entirely the wrong way, feel free to let me know. I rooted my DX in February and have not had any of the updates since then. I would like to update it to the newest version there is this phone but am a bit confused as to how to go about this. My Phone information is this:
DroidX
Android version: 2.2.1
Baseband Version: BP_C_01.09.17P
Kernel version: 2.6.32.9-
Build #: VZW
I am running Liberty 2.0.1 ROM and I seen i the ROM manager that there is an update for it, but I need to be in gingerbread first. So my question is this, I see several people saying I need to SBF back to factory 2.2.1, then forward to 2.3.340. (Not sure the exact process but I think I could figure that out) but if I do it this way, then I will loose my root. Is there a way to do this without having to SBF back to factory? I am a bit confused by the different directions given on various sites.

I have Titanium Backup and have already backed up my entire SD card and I think the phone, but I am not sure.

leftspin

Reaction score
OP
J

JpAll4Christ

Reaction score
I did not make a recovery mod last February before flashing the Liberty mod and I wish I would have. Here is where I am at so far today. I backed up my apps via Titanium and then SBF'd to .602. I got stuck in a boot loop and tried it four times before I was able to get the data wiped in clockworks, and then it booted up just fine. I am going to take the OTA update to .605 and then root.

Two questions I have at this point is, how do I make that clockwork backup so I can come back to here in the future, should I need it? And is Gingerbreak the best route to go for root?

I really appreciate you guy's help! I feel a little like I'm wearing hip waders in chest-deep water! lol

clueless77

Reaction score
the third link in Leftspin's comment is your root method, very simple