Help! I'm rooted and Dont know what!!! to do

Mandroidx

Reaction score
hELLO noob here

Ok so i rooted my droid using sprecovery. What the heck is a rom? and what is a kernel? how do i get themes on here the one im specifically trying to get is the Dark edge red theme for team chaos and idk how to do this i have scoured the forum for a while and i still cant find anything. In desparate need please help!!!!

UrbanBounca

Rescue Squad
Staff member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
The best advice I can give is don't install anything until you've read up greatly on it, or we'll see you back here tomorrow needing help because you're stuck in bootloader.

dezymond

Tech Support Mod
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
lol, you only got to first steps of rooting young grasshopper. there is much you can do with a rooted device, read the stickies to be enlightened.

a rom is basically what you see on your phone, if you flash another rom it will be modded. there are many types of roms out there, i personally recommend CyanogenMod, a very nice and stable rom, i had it when i had the d1

superglen99

Reaction score
First of all MAKE A NANDROID BACKUP. That way if you get stuck in a bootloop you can restore your phone to the way it is now. Then download rom manager premium. It has tons of roms and kernals to try out. Team chaos is in there. It makes. It so simple to do. Just dowload, wipe data and cache and install! Then you can mess with kernals to see which works best for you!

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
I suggest that you read these first:
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/re...-dummies-guide-android-terminoligy-lingo.html

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/632-what-root-means-stop-asking.html

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/70875-what-you-need-know-about-rooting.html

Once you finish. Make advance nandroid backup.

Boot into recovery (Press and hold X and power)