(GUIDE) how to root DINC2 2.3.3

gardner120

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I have installed everything but I can't get superuser to access the root. The update always fails both from the market and from the sd card. I installed the superuser update fixer and that fails also. Busybox is not allowed root access also. Everything else is working fine. Just can't install superuser. Any ides?
 
OP
estafusisx

estafusisx

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
I have installed everything but I can't get superuser to access the root. The update always fails both from the market and from the sd card. I installed the superuser update fixer and that fails also. Busybox is not allowed root access also. Everything else is working fine. Just can't install superuser. Any ides?

Try re-downloading and flashing the root.zip file first.

Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
 

gardner120

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Finally got it. Had to go to androidsu.com to get the latest superuser zip. Copied it to my SD card and loaded it. Now have root access. Thanks all!
 

sprkplg76

New Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Need help!

First of all, great tutorial! Walked me through every step and I am definitely a first timer or Newbee with rooting. I need some help though. After rooting my DINC2 I am unable to access the Market now. I have tried installing alternative apps such as AppsBrain and Appsfire but my DINC wont allow the apps to install now. When I attempt to launch the Market, the app flashes as if it is loading and nothing happens. I do however see the Market showing running as an active app in Advanced Task Killer but I cant access it. I also cannot access the GMAIL app any longer either. I cant access it through mail but not the GMAIL app. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
 
OP
estafusisx

estafusisx

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
First of all, great tutorial! Walked me through every step and I am definitely a first timer or Newbee with rooting. I need some help though. After rooting my DINC2 I am unable to access the Market now. I have tried installing alternative apps such as AppsBrain and Appsfire but my DINC wont allow the apps to install now. When I attempt to launch the Market, the app flashes as if it is loading and nothing happens. I do however see the Market showing running as an active app in Advanced Task Killer but I cant access it. I also cannot access the GMAIL app any longer either. I cant access it through mail but not the GMAIL app. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

It probably wont fix this specific problem, but my first suggestion is not to use advanced task killer, or any task killer. As for your actual problem, I don't really know what your problem is, but the typical troubleshooting method is to boot into recovery and wipe cache (you wont loose any data) and if that doesn't work wipe data (you will loose all data, but now that you have root, you can use Titanium Backup to get it all back) that fixes most problems you'll have.
 

sprkplg76

New Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Thanks!

Had to wipe all data and then it worked again! Still have root access and everything is working great! Thanks for all of your help and hard work putting the tutorial together!
 
OP
estafusisx

estafusisx

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
Had to wipe all data and then it worked again! Still have root access and everything is working great! Thanks for all of your help and hard work putting the tutorial together!

I clearly wasn't thinking very well yesterday lol because I should have suggested that you do a nandroid restore (if you have one from before the bugs started coming up)
 

thaDroidz

Silver Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
2,056
Reaction score
44
Location
neptune
I copied my first nandroid to PC just foe future miss happenings...



posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...
 
OP
estafusisx

estafusisx

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
I copied my first nandroid to PC just foe future miss happenings...



posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...

That's not a bad idea lol but i wouldn't say it's totally necessary. Something would have to go seriously wrong to you to lose your nandroid backups (held on SD card)

Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
 

DND

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia
Anyway to get a Little more detailed help? I spent 3 hours last nite going between the YouTube video and these written instructions with no success.

I know I'm missing something. I got as far as connecting my phone to pc, but program couldn't find my phone.

I'm also wondering why can't I use the serial number listed under my phone info settings? Probably dumb question, but Had to ask.

Heeeeeelllllllppppppp!!!!

Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
 
OP
estafusisx

estafusisx

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
Anyway to get a Little more detailed help? I spent 3 hours last nite going between the YouTube video and these written instructions with no success.

I know I'm missing something. I got as far as connecting my phone to pc, but program couldn't find my phone.

I'm also wondering why can't I use the serial number listed under my phone info settings? Probably dumb question, but Had to ask.

Heeeeeelllllllppppppp!!!!

Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums

You probably don't have your HTC drivers installed on your computer. I think i added a link to them in the guide. Also you may have problems if you use the usb cable that didn't come with your phone. Also you need to make sure usb debugging is on and fastboot is off. Hopefully one of these are your problem because otherwise I'll have to get creative lol. You probably could use the serial number in your about phone but it's more convenient to have the revolutionary program give it to you.

Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
 

enlightened

Super Moderator
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Messages
1,070
Reaction score
4
Location
NYC
That's not a bad idea lol but i wouldn't say it's totally necessary. Something would have to go seriously wrong to you to lose your nandroid backups (held on SD card)

Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums

It's ALWAYS a good idea to keep a copy of the most recent backup on your PC. SD cards go bad unexpectedly.
 

Thoroughbred_Lover

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Step 11 ( I believe)

So either I'm impatient or my phone really doesn't wanna let me reroot. I have installed revolutionary and I have got the beta key and everything. It registers my phone and lets me enter in the beta key. Then afterwards when it says it's Zerging Root... this might take a minute or so.. I've let my phone sit here on this screen for almost fifteen minutes and nothing happens. What do I do or how do I fix this.. I'm new at this and it's frustrating me largely.... Help :-(
 
OP
estafusisx

estafusisx

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
So either I'm impatient or my phone really doesn't wanna let me reroot. I have installed revolutionary and I have got the beta key and everything. It registers my phone and lets me enter in the beta key. Then afterwards when it says it's Zerging Root... this might take a minute or so.. I've let my phone sit here on this screen for almost fifteen minutes and nothing happens. What do I do or how do I fix this.. I'm new at this and it's frustrating me largely.... Help :-(

Sorry for being a couple days late and i'm sure by now you've either gave up or figured it out but i would suggest waiting about 30 mins b4 messing with this process to make sure it just isn't going to work, then just exiting the command window and trying again. If it still doesn't work i would re-download the revolutionary.exe and see if that helps.

Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
 
Top