Exchange security?

ryno2d

Reaction score
So I went to set up my work email on the phone and for the first time, after having it on my OG Droid and the Rezound. When I went to set it up on the Nexus, all these security things needed to be set, including

Erase All date
Set Password Rules
Monitor screen-unlock attempts
Lock the screen
Set storage encryption
Disable cameras

WTF???? I'm a cop and I suppose I work for the government but wtf is this all about?? I've never had an issue with any of my other phones. Anyone know what this is all about?

pchakmak

Reaction score
Ditto. Asked the same thing in another thread. I'm pretty sure it doesn't do it. ONLY if account gets hacked or something. But scared me enough to wait see what people say.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums

OP
R

ryno2d

Reaction score
Hopefully we can get some sort of feedback on it....

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

OP
R

ryno2d

Reaction score
Not yet no. I'm thinking it might be and ice cream sandwich deal. I called my IT department and they said they do not require any special privileges. I am curious if anyone knows of any work around or they tried to allow it and everything works fine....

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

kodiak799

Gold Member
Reaction score
I've since removed the password/lock and my exchange still seems to be working. Otherwise, perhaps we can swap out an older version of the Email.apk to eliminate the need for password security.

Reaction score
This has everything to do with the exchange mail server, permissions are set there for mobile devices. I know because I put them in place for our firm. We are currently running Exchange 2003 and it does not have an option to allow face unlock or pattern unlocks so we're forced to used pin codes. I enjoyed using the face-unlock feature until I put my exchange email on there, now I'm stuck with the pin.