Eris as Hot Spot?

Machines

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to the Eris, Android, Verizon and all the other fun stuff that goes with it. AT&T wasn't cutting it for me anymore so I made the switch.

One of the things I'm making my first mission is tethering my Eris to my laptop. I've read about PDAnet, but think that's only for Windows machines. I'm on a Macbook Pro. The main thing I'm looking to do is use my Eris as a hotspot for my iPad. I've seen a video on YouTube of a gentleman using his Moto Droid as one, but it was rooted (something I have no clue about).

Anybody have any ideas?

Brent

droidfreek

Reaction score
root

Yeah I think you have to root... I rooted my eris about a month ago, and now have aNetShare... works great... I dont own a mac, but it definitely turns the phone into a hot spot...

OP
M

Machines

Reaction score
Yeah I think you have to root... I rooted my eris about a month ago, and now have aNetShare... works great... I dont own a mac, but it definitely turns the phone into a hot spot...

So how scary is the rooting process? I've never done it before. I currently have my Eris running 1.5 and use SlideScreen as my UI of choice.

droidfreek

Reaction score
root