Droid lost root!

quickcurt

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Western Washington state.
My Motorola Droid was working great with root access for several months. Today As I was using it I went to check something in ROM MANAGER and it told me I did not have Root Access.

I originally used GingerBreak 1.2 to root it so I tried to use it again. No Go!!

Could it be because I am using ClockworkMod 2.5.0.1 recovery? (Which I can't change because I don't have "Root Access")

Any help would be VERY appreciated.

BTW: I'm using CyanogenMod 7-08172011-NIGHTLY with ADW 1.3.3.1 Launcher.

TIA,

Curt













i
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
Grab Root Checker from the market just to be sure root is really gone. Do you still have SuperUser in your app drawer?

This thread has been Thunder struck!!
 

syndicate0017

Silver Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
2,007
Reaction score
48
I've had something similar happen. A reboot fixed my issues, although, I was still able to access my recovery.

Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
 
OP
Q

quickcurt

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Western Washington state.
Reboot didn't woik!

Root Check tells me this:

Root Access is not properly configured or was not granted

Superuser.apk - com.noshufou.android.su - version 2.3.6.3 is installed.

The adb binary is set to default shell user access as root.

Standard su binary location: ls -l /system/bin/su:

ls: /system/bin/su: No such file or directory

Standard su binary location: ls -l /system/xbin/su:

ls: /system/xbin/su: no such file or directory

Alternate su binary location: ls /sbin/su: permission denied

SU binary not found or not operating properly

HELP!!

Curt.
 
OP
Q

quickcurt

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Western Washington state.
Problem solved.

I booted into recovery and went to NANDROID.

I went to restore and restored my latest backup (done with Rom Manager) using basic restore, not advanced.

After it restored and I booted I had Root Access.

Thanks for the lead to "Root Check", I'm sure I'll use it other times.

Curt.
 
Top