Droid Backgrounds are always too big? Anyone have a solution?

GT Motion

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
I am sorry if this is a repost, I tried searching a few different things and maybe I suck at searching but I cant find a solution to this.

Why can't I make the background fit the Droid screen? All the backgrounds are huge and go even beyond the multi-screens.

Does anyone know how to make the backgrounds fit the screen instead of blown up beyond belief?
 
OP
G

GT Motion

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
I downloaded that background App and just put "set as wallpaper". What else should I be doing?
 

NVash

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
495
Reaction score
0
I downloaded some actual wallpapers at that resolution from this site and still had to crop them. I dont get it. When it comes to wallpapers I just get some huge ones that can stretch across all three screens and then crop it so the middle is my main home screen. The rest of it takes up the other screens and Im happy.
 

Jorakal

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
There are a lot of Droid size wallpapers out now. As Cereal Killer said they are 960x854. When you select them as the wallpaper, you get the red box outline on the pic. Just tap the edge of the box, then drag it out to the edge of the pic, then save. It will fit perfectly.
 
OP
G

GT Motion

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
There are a lot of Droid size wallpapers out now. As Cereal Killer said they are 960x854. When you select them as the wallpaper, you get the red box outline on the pic. Just tap the edge of the box, then drag it out to the edge of the pic, then save. It will fit perfectly.

My Voyager had no problem just fitting whatever sized picture I had to the screen I have, are you telling me I have to use a select few wallpapers?

It is winter 2009, cell phones can do everything but bake a cookie, and you are telling me the Droid can't just fit the image to the correct size of the screen? I have to download a special sized picture to fit I can't just put whatever I want?
 

BeefyBeefo

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
78
Reaction score
0
Location
CO
There are a lot of Droid size wallpapers out now. As Cereal Killer said they are 960x854. When you select them as the wallpaper, you get the red box outline on the pic. Just tap the edge of the box, then drag it out to the edge of the pic, then save. It will fit perfectly.

I think that's what most people probably aren't doing. Just stretch the red box to the size of the picture. :icon_ banana:
 

New2u

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
3,692
Reaction score
69
Location
Tallahassee, Fl
I think the problem is that most of the pictures I have seen in the backgrounds apps aren't BIG enough. They aren't made for 960 x 854. While the droid will stretch the image, it will come out distorted because of this fact. While if your using a 960 x 854 the images will come out crisp.
 
OP
G

GT Motion

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
There are a lot of Droid size wallpapers out now. As Cereal Killer said they are 960x854. When you select them as the wallpaper, you get the red box outline on the pic. Just tap the edge of the box, then drag it out to the edge of the pic, then save. It will fit perfectly.

I think that's what most people probably aren't doing. Just stretch the red box to the size of the picture. :icon_ banana:
I stretch the red box, and it blows it up gigantic.
 

cereal killer

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
11,254
Reaction score
1,269
Location
Austin, TX
Current Phone Model
Nokia Lumia Icon
again GT use the correct size or size them yourself and you wont have that problem...

960x854
 

New2u

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
3,692
Reaction score
69
Location
Tallahassee, Fl
There are a lot of Droid size wallpapers out now. As Cereal Killer said they are 960x854. When you select them as the wallpaper, you get the red box outline on the pic. Just tap the edge of the box, then drag it out to the edge of the pic, then save. It will fit perfectly.

I think that's what most people probably aren't doing. Just stretch the red box to the size of the picture. :icon_ banana:
I stretch the red box, and it blows it up gigantic.

If you read my post i tried to explain why. Most images are just too small for the background we have. So it has to stretch them bigger to get them to fit. I hope this helps understand.
 

cereal killer

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
11,254
Reaction score
1,269
Location
Austin, TX
Current Phone Model
Nokia Lumia Icon
again GT use the correct size or size them yourself and you wont have that problem...

960x854

Ok, I have a picture on my phone, how do I change that size to 960x854?

lol...

where did you get the picture? In the Gallery on this site? or you found it yourself?

If you found it in the gallery it's already sized just drag the crop square all the way out.

If you found it on the internet...you have to size it yourself to those proportions with a photo editor.
 
Last edited:

New2u

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
3,692
Reaction score
69
Location
Tallahassee, Fl
You can't change it while it's on the phone. The picture has to be natively 960 x 854 before it goes onto your phone. Our picture section has many that are the correct size. But some pictures will do the same thing on the computer as they did on your phone if you set them to a higher setting then they are already at.
 
OP
G

GT Motion

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
This is what it is doing.

droidbackground.jpg
 
Top