Developer Project Called Linaro Tweaks Android Code; Can Double Performance on G-Nex

Briankbl

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
973
Reaction score
84
Okay, that rom is definitely experimental alright...

The test scores posted earlier are true. I was also getting amazing scores. That's about where the fun ended lol. Not long after that, my Home key went dead. It would highlight and make the "click" sound, but nothing would happen. I could long press for recent apps, but Home was dead.

Several other nagging issues led me to revert back to my previous rom. However, during restoration via clockwork, I kept getting "error /data could not be restored". Phone would boot up into the correct rom, but apps continuously "stopped" every ten seconds. After rebooting (after a battery pull), things started to calm down. I restored all apps and data via TB. Even still, issues are still popping up.

Anyone know why CWM failed to completely restore a clean rom backup?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
 

goosedeath

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
280
Reaction score
4
Location
PHX, AZ
Briankbl said:
Okay, that rom is definitely experimental alright...

The test scores posted earlier are true. I was also getting amazing scores. That's about where the fun ended lol. Not long after that, my Home key went dead. It would highlight and make the "click" sound, but nothing would happen. I could long press for recent apps, but Home was dead.

Several other nagging issues led me to revert back to my previous rom. However, during restoration via clockwork, I kept getting "error /data could not be restored". Phone would boot up into the correct rom, but apps continuously "stopped" every ten seconds. After rebooting (after a battery pull), things started to calm down. I restored all apps and data via TB. Even still, issues are still popping up.

Anyone know why CWM failed to completely restore a clean rom backup?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Did you do a clean install of liquid? Sometimes makes a difference. Also, which version did you install?
 

Briankbl

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
973
Reaction score
84
Did you do a clean install of liquid? Sometimes makes a difference. Also, which version did you install?

Yup, clean install with data and cache wipe. It was Linaro 1.5.

Edit: To be more specific, the file names for the rom and kernel I used are
Rom - liquid_toro-ics-eng.v1.5rc.zip

Kernel - franco.Kernel-r185.doc.linaro.512GPU.wififix.zip

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
 

goosedeath

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
280
Reaction score
4
Location
PHX, AZ
Briankbl said:
Yup, clean install with data and cache wipe. It was Linaro 1.5.

Edit: To be more specific, the file names for the rom and kernel I used are
Rom - liquid_toro-ics-eng.v1.5rc.zip

Kernel - franco.Kernel-r185.doc.linaro.512GPU.wififix.zip

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

That's not a final build. Sometimes multiple wipes are needed for a clean install. I'm running 1.4 w/ the same kernal, no problems here. I'm not over clocked though. I'm also not using any themes.
Liquid is super sweet. IMHO, its worth the trouble to go the extra steps to try and get it running right. It hasn't been very picky for me.
Try waiting for the stable 1.5 to come out.
 

tgyberg

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
3,964
Reaction score
319
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Current Phone Model
Pixel 2XL & Pixel C
Yup, clean install with data and cache wipe. It was Linaro 1.5.

Edit: To be more specific, the file names for the rom and kernel I used are
Rom - liquid_toro-ics-eng.v1.5rc.zip

Kernel - franco.Kernel-r185.doc.linaro.512GPU.wififix.zip

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Could be that 512GPU also. Although if your phone booted maybe not?!
 

52brandon

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
1,019
Reaction score
19
Could be that 512GPU also. Although if your phone booted maybe not?!
I was thinking that too. May also be the CPU frequencies. Sometimes different builds/kernels don't play too well together. Maybe try increasing them a little?
 

Briankbl

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
973
Reaction score
84
That's not a final build. Sometimes multiple wipes are needed for a clean install. I'm running 1.4 w/ the same kernal, no problems here. I'm not over clocked though. I'm also not using any themes.
Liquid is super sweet. IMHO, its worth the trouble to go the extra steps to try and get it running right. It hasn't been very picky for me.
Try waiting for the stable 1.5 to come out.

That's probably what I'll do. Someone mentioned earlier that they're close to a stable "official" release.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
 

Briankbl

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
973
Reaction score
84
Could be that 512GPU also. Although if your phone booted maybe not?!

Yeah, it would boot up just fine. Think I should stick with it or get the lower one just to be safe?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
 

goosedeath

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
280
Reaction score
4
Location
PHX, AZ
Briankbl said:
Yeah, it would boot up just fine. Think I should stick with it or get the lower one just to be safe?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Try the lower one just for fun
 

tgyberg

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
3,964
Reaction score
319
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Current Phone Model
Pixel 2XL & Pixel C
Screenshot_2012-06-18-21-07-36.png
Screenshot_2012-06-18-19-41-20.png
Nice!
 

Briankbl

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
973
Reaction score
84
Liquid Linaro 1.5 RC2 is supposed to drop today, but I can't access irc.freenode.net :(

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
 
Top