Contacts force close, tried fix...

PeanutPixie

Reaction score
Good Morning,
I am really new to rooting and ran into a problem. I've had the phone rooted for a while but when i first did it I was an idiot and deleted yahoo authentication and others. So of course I can't access my contacts. I tried the fix of copying the apk and odex files under system app and setting the rights to rw r r but still nothing. Restarted it even factory reset... im really just trying to figure out what else i can do. I have a droid x2 and used that 2012 root thats floating around. Sorry, im not very tech savy. I found a contacts app that'll at least allow me to view apps but still cant add new ones.... any suggestions?

GoCliffGo05

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 7
So you're on 2.3.5? I would use titanium backup to save your apps + data, texts and bookmarks then do a SBF. Since you will be SBFing with the version you are already on you may not need to wipe data but better to be safe than sorry.

Just to make sure, when you moved the file to system/app you changed both of the owners and permissions to match the ones around?

The SBF will replace all your system files, you'll need to re-root afterwards though.

Let me find you some links.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

GoCliffGo05

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 7
Links: All files for Verizon.

Download the 2.3.5 SBF from here: https://sites.google.com/site/motosbf/droid-x2-sbf-files (the last one)

Download RSD Lite: https://sites.google.com/site/motosbf/rsdlite (5.6 or 5.7 should be fine, get the drivers here too if you need them)

SBF Guide: [GUIDE] How to SBF an X2

SBF How To Video: (This shows 2.3.4 but the process is the same for 2.3.5) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDjt2fiFd_0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

-Make sure you're using the cable that came with the phone